Stars recalled for Socceroos' World Cup Qualifier in Perth

Socceroos Coach Ange Postecoglou has welcomed back Asian Cup heroes Robbie Kruse and Massimo Luongo as well as attacking midfielder Tom Rogic for the upcoming 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers against Bangladesh and Tajikistan in early September.

All three strike weapons make a return to the Socceroos from injury and add significant weight to Postecoglou’s squad for the games with Bangladesh in Perth on 3 September and Tajikistan in Dushanbe on 8 September.

Rogic was last part of the Socceroos set up in the lead up to the 2014 FIFA World Cup and his selectionfollows a bright start to the season with Celtic while Kruse and Luongo also come back into the squad after missing the 2-1 win over Kyrgyzstan in June.

“It’s a positive that we’ve been able to recall Massimo (Luongo), Robbie (Kruse) and Tom Rogic after they missed recent matches and they add attacking options to the squad for the two matches in Perth and Dushanbe,” Postecoglou said.

“All three have regained fitness and started the season in form so they come back in and give us plenty of options and good depth in an attacking sense. When you add them to the likes of Tim Cahill, Mat Leckie,Tomi Juric, Nathan Burns and Tommy Oar the fans in Perth have a lot to get excited about.

“We started the World Cup qualification process with a win against Kyrgyzstan in tough conditions and now we have to continue that in front of our own fans in Perth and then on another tricky away trip to Dushanbe.”

Postecoglou has also drafted Aaron Mooy, Adam Federici, Jackson Irvine, Ryan McGowan and uncapped goalkeeper Alex Cisak into the Socceroo squad, which will return to Perth for the first time since 2005.

They replace Oliver Bozanic, Chris Ikonimidis, Daniel de Silva, Ivan Franjic, Eugene Galekovic, Mitch Langerak, Tomislav Mrcela and James Troisi.

“The players we have brought into the squad have all started their respective seasons with some good performances and will get an opportunity to impress while they are in good form and fitness,” Postecoglou said.

Australia has never played Bangladesh or Tajikistan at full international level.

The Socceroos matches against Bangladesh and Tajikistan will be broadcast exclusively LIVE on FOX SPORTS 4 (channel 505) and on a one hour delay on SBS.

Socceroo Match Details

Australia v Bangladesh ​​​​​Tajikistan v Australia

3 September 2015     ​​​​​8 September 2015 

nib Stadium, Perth ​​​​​Republican Central Stadium, Dushanbe

7pm (AWT) kick off (9pm AEST)​​​​6pm kick off (10pm AEST)

TICKET INFORMATION (Australia v Bangladesh)

Tickets can be purchased for the match at

Ticket Prices – General Public 

Category A - $120 all tickets

Category B - $80 Adult, $60 Concession, $40 Child, $199 Family

Category C - $55 Adult, $40 Concession, $30 Child, $140 Family

The Shed - $55 Adult, $40 Concession

Active Area- $65 Adult, $50 Concession

Ticket Prices are inclusive of GST & Booking Fee. Transaction and credit card charges apply.

Concession (Pensioner, Student)

Pensioner Concession Card holders and Seniors Card holders (valid ID required)

Student - Full time tertiary and secondary school students (valid ID required)

Child - 4–16 years inclusive (children 3 years and under are free unless they are occupying a seat)

Family Definition - 2 Adults and 2 Children or 1 Adult and 3 Children

National Companion Card Accepted

Socceroos squad for 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier v Bangladesh and Tajikistan


Club, Country

A International Caps (Goals)

Aziz Behich

Bursaspor, Turkey

11 (2)

Nathan Burns

FC Tokyo, Japan

13 (0)

Tim Cahill

Shanghai Greenland Shenhua F.C., China

83 (39)

Alex Cisak (gk)

Leyton Orient FC, England


Jason Davidson

Huddersfield Town AFC, England

18 (1)

Tarek Elrich

Adelaide United FC, Australia

1 (0)

Adam Federici (gk)

AFC Bournemouth, England

10 (0)

Jackson Irvine

Ross County, Scotland

1 (0)

Mile Jedinak

Crystal Palace FC, England

59 (9)

Tomi Juric

Roda JC Kerkrade, Netherlands

13 (2)

Robbie Kruse

TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Germany

38 (4)

Mathew Leckie

FC Ingolstadt 04, Germany

25 (1)

Massimo Luongo

Queens Park Rangers FC, England

12 (2)

Ryan McGowan

Dundee United, Scotland

12 (0)

Matt McKay

Brisbane Roar, Australia

56 (2)

Mark Milligan

Baniyas SC, UAE

40 (3)

Aaron Mooy

Melbourne City FC, Australia

6 (3)

Tommy Oar


23 (2)

Tom Rogic

Celtic FC, Scotland

9 (0)

Mat Ryan (gk)

Valencia CF, Spain

21 (0)

Matthew Spiranovic

Hangzhou Greentown FC, China

27 (0)

Alex Wilkinson

Jeonbuk Hyundai FC, Korea Republic

15 (0)

Bailey Wright

Preston North End FC, England

3 (1)