Who do the Caltex Socceroos join at the 2018 FIFA World Cup?

The Caltex Socceroos booked their spot at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia with a nerve-wracking play-off win over Honduras on Wednesday night.

After the first leg finished 0-0 in San Pedro Sula, a hat-trick to captain Mile Jedinak inspired Ange Postecoglou’s side to a convincing 3-1 win at Stadium Australia.

REPORT: Jedinak inspires Caltex Socceroos to impressive victory over Honduras

HIGHLIGHTS: Socceroos too good for Honduras

Australia are the second-last side to qualify for next year’s showpiece in Russia, with New Zealand and Peru to battle it out for the final spot on Thursday afternoon.

Which other nations will join the Socceroos in Russia? We take a look.


Qualified Teams: Russia (hosts), France, Portugal, Germany, Serbia, Poland, England, Spain, Belgium, Iceland, Switzerland, Croatia, Sweden and Denmark.

Notable absentees: Italy, Netherlands


Qualified Teams: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina and Colombia

Notable absentees: Chile


Qualified Teams: Costa Rica, Mexico and Panama

Notable absentees: USA


Qualified Teams: Australia, Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia and South Korea

Notable absentees:  China, UAE


Qualified Teams: Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia

Notable absentees: Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast

*Peru or New Zealand will claim the final World Cup spot on Thursday afternoon (AEDT)

The 2018 World Cup will kick-off June 15 (AEDT) with the groups to be drawn December 1, 2017.