Qantas Futsalroos Squad announced

Qantas Futsalroos Head Coach Steven Knight has selected a squad of 13-players for the AFC Futsal Championship ASEAN Zone qualifiers which will be held in Indonesia later this month.

Qantas Futsalroos Head Coach Steven Knight has selected a squad of 13-players for the AFC Futsal Championship ASEAN Zone qualifiers which will be held in Indonesia later this month.

Confident with his first national team selection, Knight believes that he has the right mix of local and international players with the skills, experience and ability to qualify for the AFC Futsal Championship which will be held in Uzbekistan in May.

“We looked at a large number of players over the past few months and the players selected proved themselves to be the best available for selection,” said Knight

“There are three overseas players selected who are currently playing in professional leagues in Europe which will add a different type of experience to the squad.

“There is also a number of debutants in the squad who, I believe, have the ability to step up and begin their senior international futsal careers.

“The competition in Indonesia will be very tough, in particular the host nation who will have the home court advantage, but I-m confident that we can do the job,” concluded Knight

Knight will also name an additional player to the squad after the Qantas Futsalroos participate in a charity match against NSW Thunder on Sunday in aid of the Sherry Family Orphan Appeal.

Football Federation Australia and the Qantas Futsalroos were saddened when hearing the news of the passing of Carole and Joseph Sherry who drowned whilst trying to save their children from a treacherous rip at a South Ballina Beach on the NSW North Coast on the 19th January. The unfortunate tragedy left their children Monique, Elise, and Nicholas orphaned. The Sherry family was very active with the Campbelltown Quake Futsal Club with Elise playing in the under 14 girls squad.

The charity match will kick-off at 4pm on Sunday 14 February at the Dural Sport & Leisure Centre with all proceeds going to the Sherry Family Orphan Appeal (see below for details).

AFC Futsal Championship ASEAN Zone qualifiers will take place from 20-25 February in Jakarta with the top three teams qualifying for the AFC Futsal Championships which will be played in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, from 23-30 May.

The Qantas Futsalroos have been drawn in Group A along with Indonesia and Myanmar, while Malaysia, Vietnam, Cambodia and Philippines make up Group B.

Qantas Futsalroos Squad: Joshua Codrington (Dural Warriors, NSW), Roger Cua (Mascot Vipers, NSW), Fernando De Moraes (North Melbourne FC, VIC), Miles Downie (Sporting Club Vila Verde, Portugal), Rhys Giovenali (Dural Warriors, NSW), Greg Giovenali (Salaria Sporting Village, Italy), Simon Keith (Maccabi Futsal, NSW), Angelo Konstantinou (Boomerangs FS, ACT), Dean Lockhart (Campbelltown City Quake, NSW), Pat Ross-Magee (Boomerangs FS, ACT), Tom Rogic (ANU, ACT), Tobias Seeto (Lanzarote Tias Yaiza, Spain), Adrian Vizzari (Inner West Allstars, NSW),

Team Officials Head Coach - Steven Knight (NSW) Assistant Coach - Robert Varela (NSW) Goalkeeper Coach - Roger Cua (ACT) Physiotherapist - Michael Sette (VIC) Team Manager - Matt Sheppard (FFA)

AFC Futsal Championship ASEAN Zone qualifiers Tournament Schedule 20-25 February 2010

All matches to be played at the Tennis Indoor Stadium, Jakarta, Indonesia

Date Fixture Kick-off (local) Kick-off (AEDT) 20 February, 2010 Australia v Myanmar 2:30pm 6:30pm 20 February, 2010 Malaysia v Philippines 4:15pm 8:15pm 20 February, 2010 Vietnam v Cambodia 6:30pm 10:30pm 21 February, 2010 Myanmar v Indonesia 2:30pm 6:30pm 21 February, 2010 Philippines v Vietnam 4:15pm 8:15pm 21 February, 2010 Cambodia v Malaysia 6:30pm 10:30pm 22 February, 2010 Australia v Indonesia 2:30pm 6:30pm 22 February, 2010 Malaysia v Vietnam 4:15pm 8:15pm 22 February, 2010 Cambodia v Philippines 6:30pm 10:30pm 24 February, 2010 Semi-final 1 (B1 v A2) 4:15pm 8:15pm 24 February, 2010 Semi-final 2 (A1 v B2) 6:30pm 10:30pm 25 February, 2010 Third-place play-off (LSF1 v LSF2) 4:15pm 8:15pm 25 February, 2010 Final (WSF1 v WSF2) 6:30pm 10:30pm