Mooy claims PFA award as Australia's best

Caltex Socceroos playmaker Aaron Mooy has been named the PFA's Men’s Footballer of the Year.

It’s the third year in a row Mooy has won the prestigious accolade, voted on by his peers.

RUSSIA WRAP: England defy history, Sweden edge through

READ: The giant strides the Socceroos made on the Road to Russia

The 27-year-old is coming off a superb campaign for Huddersfield Town in his first season in the English Premier League, as well as starring for the Caltex Socceroos at the FIFA World Cup™ in Russia.

It is the 25th year the PFA have handed out the awards, marking the occasion with a gala dinner and ceremony at ANZ Stadium.

In other awards presented, Melbourne City teenager Daniel Arzani took out the Harry Kewell Medal as the best young player.

Westfield Matildas and Perth Glory star Sam Kerr was named Women’s Footballer of the Year for the second straight year.

Kerr not only starred for Australia at the Tournament of Nations and this year’s AFC Women’s Asian Cup but was also voted the best player in America’s National Women’s Soccer League and set a goal-scoring record with 17 in a single season.

The 24-year-old was also named the AFC Women’s Football of the Year as well as being named the Julie Dolan Medal for the Westfield W-League 2016/17 Season and 2017/18 Season (alongside Clare Polkinghorne).

Adelaide United midfielder Alex Chidiac – currently playing with the Westfield Young Matildas – took out the Young Women's Footballer prize.

2018 PFA Awards in full:

PFA Community Medal - Nigel Boogaard (Newcastle Jets)
PFA Young Women's Footballer of the Year - Alex Chidiac (Adelaide United)
PFA Women's Footballer of the Year - Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars)
PFA Harry Kewell Medal: Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City)
PFA Men's Footballer of the Year: Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal: Paul Okon