Farina Names Near Full Strength Squad For Norway M

National Coach Frank Farina today named eight players from the English Premier League in his 20-man Socceroos squad to take on Norway at Craven Cottage in London on Tuesday 16 November (kick-off 8.30pm).

National Coach Frank Farina today named eight players from the English Premier League in his 20-man Socceroos squad to take on Norway at Craven Cottage in London on Tuesday 16 November (kick-off 8.30pm).   *** Tickets can be purchased via the internet by logging on at www.seetickets.com, www.australiansoccer.com.au  or www.fulhamfc.com, via telephone by calling See Tickets on +44 (0) 870 264 3333 or in person at Fulham Football Club-s Ticket Office on Stevenage Road or the Club Shop situated on Fulham Road. Prices start from £20 for adults and £10 for children. ***   Australia, who moved up 15 places to 49th in the world according to the FIFA world rankings released overnight, will welcome back Tim Cahill (pictured above), Marco Bresciano, Mark Viduka, Scott Chipperfield, Danny Tiatto and Stan Lazaridis who all missed the FIFA Confederations Cup qualifiers against the Solomon Islands last month due to injury.   "It's going to be great having these players back in the squad," said Farina.   "It is very competitive for places in the team so some tough decisions will have to be made but we'll be putting the best possible team out on the park."   "Norway are going to be tough opposition and it is going to be a very competitive match, which is what we want every time we play between now and the world cup qualifiers next year."   Norway, who have named a very strong squad, qualified for the 1994 and 1998 World Cups and currently lie 35th in the FIFA World Rankings and have been victorious in their last two FIFA World Cup qualification games beating Scotland (1-0) and Slovenia (3-0) and are currently placed 2nd in their Group.   Norwegian coach, Age Hareide added: "The game against Australia in London is a great opportunity for us to continue developing our own, relatively new team. After the first four games in qualifying stages for World Cup 2006, we see the need for constant work leading on to the 2005 season. The winter break will always be a challenge for Norwegian football, and to get such a great opponent with next to no travelling involved is a bonus for our preparations."   SBS' LIVE coverage on Wednesday 17 November will commence at 7:20am with a full replay scheduled at 10:00pm. There will also be a Live Update of the match on www.australiansoccer.com.au   Australia will debut their new Nike-designed national kit when they face the Norwegians who boast three EPL players, John Arne Riise (Liverpool), Morten Gamst Pedersen (Blackburn) and Claus Lundekvam (Southampton).   Until now the Socceroos have been wearing an interim playing kit in Australia-s Olympic colours, but the international against Norway will see them debut their first national kit in the new colour direction.   Nike, together with the Australian Soccer Association, agreed that the new playing strip should reflect the pride players feel when representing their country together with heralding a new era for Football in Australia.   Nike Marketing Director Simon Pestridge said: “Our aim was to produce a kit for the national teams that was both highly functional and visually striking. After working with other iconic national soccer teams around the world such a Brazil and Holland, Nike understands the importance of designing a playing strip which generates team unity, excites the fans and creates a true national identity.”   Nike spent months researching Australian sporting culture and identity and spoke with the coaching staff, various players and the ASA management team to get a feel for the aesthetic elements which capture the spirit of the game in Australia.   The result is a national identity which reflects the deep green and golden colour of the Wattle tree, Australia-s floral emblem, and ties in with the brand identity of Australia-s eight national teams. Interestingly, the shade of colours that was finally agreed upon is reminiscent of the colours that were worn by the Australian team when they last played in the World Cup in 1974.   ASA Chief Executive John O-Neill was excited with the look, design and technical aspects of the new kit. “As the game of football continues to be revitalised in Australia it is only appropriate that we have a kit that embodies a team identity and provides a sense of pride and nationalism as we continue on the road to Germany,” said O'Neill.   Designed to provide total comfort, enhanced fit and improved player performance, the Nike jersey is so light players will hardly notice they are wearing it. Weighing only 155 grams, it is the lightest football jersey Nike has ever produced.   Socceroos squad is: Marco Bresciano (Parma, Italy), Tim Cahill (Everton, England), Scott Chipperfield (Basel, Switzerland), Ahmad Elrich (Busan I'Cons, Korea), Brett Emerton (Blackburn Rovers, England), Vince Grella (Parma, Italy), Zeljko Kalac (Perugia, Italy), Harry Kewell (Liverpool, England), Steve Laybutt (KAA Ghent, Belgium), Stan Lazaridis (Birmingham City, England), Jonathan McKain (National Bucuresti, Romania), Kevin Muscat (Millwall, England), Lucas Neill (Blackburn Rovers, England), Tony Popovic (Crystal Palace, England), Mark Schwarzer (Middlesbrough, England), Josip Skoko (Genclerbirligi, Turkey), Mile Sterjovski (Basel, Switzerland), Danny Tiatto (Leicester City, England), Tony Vidmar (Cardiff City, Wales), Mark Viduka (Middlesbrough, England)   Norway squad is:  André Bergdølmo (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), John Carew (Besiktas, Turkey), Erik Hagen (Vålerenga, Norway), Jon Inge Høiland (Malmø FF, Sweden), Magne Hoset (København, Denmark), Steffen Iversen (Vålerenga, Norway), Espen Johnsen (Rosenborg, Norway), Azar Karadas (Benfica, Portugal), Tommy Svindal Larsen (Nürnberg, Germany), Claus Lundekvam (Southampton, England), Thomas Myhre (Sunderland, England), Alexander Ødegaard (Sogndal, Norway), Morten Gamst Pedersen (Blackburn, England), John Arne Riise (Liverpool, England), Sigurd Rushfeldt (Austria Wien, Austria), Jan Gunnar Solli (Rosenborg, Norway), Ragnvald Soma (Brann, Norway), Bengt Sæternes (Brann, Norway)