Farina names Nations Cup Squad after Paraguay win

The LG SOCCEROOS have beaten PARAGUAY 2-1 in the third and final match of the series, at Melbourne’s Olympic Park.

The LG SOCCEROOS have beaten PARAGUAY 2-1 in the third and final match of the series, at Melbourne-s Olympic Park.

The Australians went on the attack from the opening minute of play, and were unlucky not to go ahead in the 16th minute, when DAVID ZDRILIC threaded a through ball to PAUL AGOSTINO, whose shot was saved by Paraguayan keeper and captain JOSE LUIS CHILAVERT.

The first goal of the series seemed almost certain in the 39th minute when DANNY TIATTO was brought down in the box earning Australia a penalty, however the opposition did enough to distract Australian captain PAUL OKON, whose spot kick sailed over the bar.

The continued Australian assault finally paid dividends two minutes into the second half, midfielder CRAIG FOSTER beating Chilavert with a left-footer to make it 1-0 to the home team.

Zdrilic then made it 2-0 just 5 minutes later after midfielder BRETT EMERTON had broken down the right and crossed to the striker, whose left footed shot again beat the Paraguayan keeper.

Paraguay pulled one back in the 58th minute, MIGUEL CACERES capitalising on a mistake from Australian keeper ZELJKO KALAC, however the introduction shortly after of strikers CLAYTON ZANE and SCOTT CHIPPERFIELD kept the attack flowing Australia-s way.

In the final minute of play, the ill-tempered feeling which prevailed through the match finally boiled over, CHILAVERT being handed his second yellow card of the evening, the ensuing melee finally seeing the goalkeeper-s exit from the ground, and Australia-s hard fought victory.

“The Paraguayans were very solid at the back over the series and tended not to give anything away, but we always knew that when that first goal was scored, the game would open up,” said LG Socceroo Coach FRANK FARINA after the game.

“The team has steadily improved over the three games, the players have gotten better playing the games as has the combination, we went out to pressurize them and win the ball, and we did just that.”

SUMMARY: FULL TIME RESULT: AUSTRALIA 2 (Craig Foster 47-, David Zdrilic 52-) PARAGUAY 1 (Miguel Caceres 58-) AUSTRALIA Zeljko Kalac (gk); Kevin Muscat, Shaun Murphy, Tony Popovic, Danny Tiatto (Scott Chipperfield 66-), Stan Lazaridis, Paul Okon, Craig Foster (Steve Corica 82-), Brett Emerton, David Zdrilic (Clayton Zane 66-), Paul Agostino

PARAGUAY Jose L Chilavert (gk); Nestor Isasi, Delio Toledo (Luis Robles 46-), Dario Caballero, Nelson Zelaya (Angel Antar 65-), Estanislao Struway, Nery Ortiz (Raul Aviniagalde 58-), Miguel Caceres, Walter Avalos (Tomas Gonzalez 58-, Justo Villar 92-), Luis Romero, Roland Gaona (Victor Ortiz 78-) Result - Game 3/Oceania Nations Cup Squad date: 15th June 2000

Yellow Cards E Struway (Par) 55-, N Isasi (Par) 63-, D Caballero (Par) 72-

Red Card J L Chilavert (Par) 91-

On the back of tonight-s 2-1 victory over Paraguay, LG Socceroo Coach FRANK FARINA has announced a 20-man Squad, to travel to Tahiti for the Oceania Nations Cup, which is also doubling as the Confederations Cup Qualifier.

The 20 man LG Socceroo Squad is:

BOLTON Clint - Goalkeeper - Brisbane Strikers (Australia) KALAC Zeljko - Goalkeeper - Roda JC (Holland) COLOSIMO Simon - Defender - Carlton (Australia) HORVAT Steve - Defender - Carlton (Australia) LAYBUTT Stephen - Defender - Parramatta Power (Australia) LAZARIDIS Stan - Defender - Birmingham City (England) MURPHY Shaun - Defender - Sheffield United (England) MUSCAT Kevin - Defender - Wolverhampton Wanderers (England) POPOVIC Tony - Defender - Sanfrecce Hiroshima (Japan) TIATTO Danny - Defender - Manchester City (England) CORICA Steve - Midfielder - Sanfrecce Hiroshima (Japan) EMERTON Brett - Midfielder - Sydney Olympic (Australia) FOSTER Craig - Midfielder - Crystal Palace OKON Paul - Midfielder - Fiorentina (Italy) VIDMAR Aurelio - Midfielder - Adelaide City (Australia) AGOSTINO Paul - Striker - 1860 Munich (Germany) CARDOZO Pablo - Striker - Sydney Olympic (Australia) CHIPPERFIELD Scott - Striker - Wollongong Wolves (Australia) ZANE Clayton - Striker - Molde (Norway) ZDRILIC David - Striker - SSV Ulm (Germany)