Youngsters get chance to push for senior selection

Football Federation Australia today named a youthful Socceroos squad that will play the Singapore national team on Saturday 22 March at the Singapore National Stadium.

National coach, Pim Verbeek, has opted for youth in naming the Socceroos squad to play the Singapore national team on Saturday 22 March at the Singapore National Stadium.

Only four of the squad named today by National Coach Pim Verbeek have been capped at full senior level with 12 of the 17-man squad all in contention to be part of the Qantas under 23s that will represent Australia at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

With a 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying match to be played against China in Kunming only four days after the Singapore match, it is a vital opportunity for these players to push to be included in the final squad that will travel to China.

"I will not finalise my squad for the match against China until after the Singapore game so these players have a chance to impress and be included in the team for China," said Verbeek.

"There is also a possibility that some Europe-based players will be added to this squad to play Singapore if an early release from club duties can be negotiated .

"It is important that we continue to keep the Hyundai A-League players fit with vital national team and Olympic team matches coming up so this camp and match is important to us."

Hyundai A-League Grand Final winners Newcastle Jets are the most heavily represented club in the squad with five of the Championship winning team selected.

Players will arrive in Singapore on Monday except for players from Adelaide United and Melbourne Victory who will join the camp after their Asian Champions League matches are played on Wednesday 19 March.

Both the Singapore match and World Cup qualifier against China will be shown live and exclusive on FOX SPORTS.

FOXTEL is the presenting partner of Australia's World Cup qualification journey.


International Match Singapore v Australia Saturday 22 March 2008 National Stadium, Singapore


Nigel Boogard (Central Coast Mariners), Leigh Broxham (Melbourne Victory), Nathan Burns (Adelaide United), Billy Celeski (Melbourne Victory), Ante Covic (Newcastle Jets), Bruce Djite (Adelaide United), Tarek Elrich (Newcastle Jets), Adam Griffiths (Newcastle Jets), James Holland (Newcastle Jets), Mile Jedinak (Central Coast Mariners), Jade North (Newcastle Jets), Nikita Rukavytsya (Perth Glory), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Perth Glory), Tando Velaphi (Perth Glory), Ruben Zadkovich (TBC), Michael Zullo (Queensland Roar)