Socceroos stars Tom Rogic and Denis Genreau win PFA awards

Socceroos Next Fixtures - June Playoffs

Stars of the Socceroos, Tom Rogic and Denis Genreau have won the PFA’s prestigious player-voted awards.

The duo were unveiled as winners of the 2022 PFA Players’ Awards, which celebrate the significant contribution of football’s established and emerging players, at the Dolan-Warren Awards night on Thursday evening.

  • Socceroos and Celtic attacking midfielder Tommy Rogic was voted as the PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year for the first time
  • Toulouse and Socceroos midfielder Denis Genreau has been voted as the winner of the PFA Harry Kewell Medal; the PFA Men’s Young Footballer of the Year

PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year: Tom Rogic

Enjoying a renaissance at Celtic, Rogic helped spearhead the Hoops’ Championship-winning campaign under Ange Postecoglou, lifting the Scottish Premiership trophy and the Scottish League Cup in a return to career-best form.

On the way to the double, Rogic made 50 appearances in all competitions for Celtic, scoring six goals and assisting 10, before the ‘Wizard of Oz’, as he became known by the Celtic faithful, enjoyed an emotional farewell from Celtic Park earlier this month after a decade in Glasgow.

When available for Socceroos duty, Rogic translated his stunning club form for the green and gold, featuring in six matches for the national team and contributing to four wins via his influential play in Australia’s midfield.

Rogic said: “It’s a huge honour to be named the PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year. To win this award voted by all my peers is very special. It’s been a great year and I hope to be able to top it off with qualification for the World Cup with the Socceroos.”

PFA Harry Kewell Medal: Denis Genreau

Genreau, the French-born Socceroo, had a season to remember for club side Toulouse, helping to guide Les Violets to the Ligue 2 title and subsequent promotion to Ligue 1, France’s top flight.

In his first season in French football, Genreau become a regular starter for Toulouse, making 34 appearances and scoring the decisive goal against Nîmes to secure promotion -  and kick-start wild celebrations in the south of France earlier this month.

For the Socceroos, Genreau earned valuable international experience in FIFA World Cup Qualifying, following his form for the Olyroos at the rescheduled Tokyo Olympics in 2021.

Genreau said: “I’m very grateful to win the PFA Young Footballer of the Year; it’s something that is a reward for what has been a great season for myself and for my football club.  To win an award named after Harry Kewell, [a player that] as a young Australian footballer everyone looks up to, and to follow in the footsteps of the other players who have won in the past, it’s something I am very thankful for.”

2022 Nominees: Seventeen football stars up for PFA Players’ Awards

Previous Winners:

Men’s Footballer of the Year Winners: Tom Rogic (2022), Jamie Maclaren (2021), Mat Ryan (2020, 2019, 2015), Aaron Mooy (2018, 2017, 2016), Mile Jedinak (2014), Robbie Kruse (2013), Brett Holman (2012), Matt McKay (2011), Mark Schwarzer (2010), Tim Cahill (2009)  

Harry Kewell Medal (PFA Men’s Young Footballer of the Year): Denis Genreau (2022), Connor Metcalfe (2021), Liberato Cacace (2020), Chris Ikonomidis (2019), Daniel Arzani (2018), Alex Gersbach (2017), Jamie Maclaren (2016), Mat Ryan (2015, 2014, 2012), Marco Rojas (2013), Robbie Kruse (2011), Mitch Langerak (2010), Nikita Rukavytska (2009)

Generations of Socceroos podcast thin banner