Socceroo star misses Ballon d'Or 23-player shortlist

​Socceroo Massimo Luongo has missed out on selection in the final 23-player list for this year’s Ballon d’Or Award.

The Queens Park Rangers midfielder was initially included in the 59-man shortlist which included the likes of world stars Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero.

But unfortunately for Luongo his name wasn’t there when the list was cut this week.

Despite his omission it was a remarkable effort by the Sydney-born playmaker to make a list alongside some greats of world football.

Socceroo Massimo Luongo named on Ballon d'Or shortlist

It’s been a breakout year for the talented 23-year-old. He was superb in the green and gold during January’s AFC Asian Cup, inspiring the Socceroos to an historic win of the tournament for the first time.

Attacking midfield: Massimo Luongo – A genuine match-winner, the QPR playmaker is looking more and more comfortable in the Green and Gold with every outing.

Luongo was voted player of the tournament and scored the opening goal in the 2-1 win in the final over Korea Republic.

The Ballon d’Or list will be cut again later this year down to the final three contenders, with the winner set to be announced at a FIFA ceremony in January.

Real Madrid and Portugal star Ronaldo is shooting for a third straight win as the world player of the year and a fourth prize overall.

23-Player shortlist: 

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/VfL Wolfsburg/Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich), James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona), Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire/Manchester City), Arturo Vidal (Chile/Juventus/FC Bayern Munich).