Six Socceroos named in PFA A-League Team of the Season squad

Six members of the most recent Socceroos squad have been named as members of the Professional Footballers Australia (the PFA)'s annual A-League Team of the Season. 

The team was announced on Wednesday night as part of the virtual Dolan Warren Awards ceremony, and was calculated based on a peer-selected vote. 

Socceroos striker Jamie Maclaren appeared in the side for the second straight season, this time receiving more votes than any other player and being named the team's captain.

He is joined in the Starting XI by Sydney FC fullback Ryan Grant, making his fourth TOTS appearance, as well as Melbourne City's Curtis Good and Connor Metcalfe and Central Coast Mariners defender Ruon Tongyik. 

Sydney FC defender Ryan McGowan was also named on the substitutes' bench. 

All six players featured during the Socceroos' return to action this month, with Metcalfe and Tongyik enjoying their international debuts off a strong season at club level. 

Former Socceroo and PFA President Alex Wilkinson extended his congratulations for the squad selected.

"Players always regard peer recognition as the highest honour, so the 17 players will no doubt be honoured to be selected by their peers in this year’s Team," he told The PFA.

"The Team reflects the high calibre of existing and emerging talent we have in the A-League, and the depth our competition boasts.

With five of the starting XI recently featuring for the Socceroos, the A-League remains a competition that can catapult our best talent onto the international stage. On behalf of the PFA membership, I congratulate all players selected this season.”

Jamie Maclaren
Jamie Maclaren scored an outstanding 25 goals in 24 A-League games this season

Melbourne City marksman Maclaren expressed his gratitude for his peers who voted in his favour. 

"It’s amazing to be voted among the best 11 players throughout the whole season, and to have recorded my best season in front of goal," he said. 

"It’s always one of the most rewarding honours being recognised by your peers and I thank all the players who voted for me, it’s truly humbling."

While Wednesday night's ceremony saw Maclaren officially awarded the Golden Boot, Sydney FC shot-stopper Andrew Redmayne was also named the A-League's Goalkeeper of the Season.