Our previous AFC Asian Cup™ matches against Korea Republic

The Socceroos and Korea Republic share a rivalry which originated in 1967 when the first meeting took place. 

Outside of New Zealand with 67 matches, it is the most common fixture for the Australians with 30 meetings.

Get Tickets

In those 30 games, Australia has claimed 11 wins to Korea's eight, leaving 11 draws. Ironically, little also separates the two teams in its three meetings at the AFC Asian Cup™.

Take a look back at the three previous matchups in Asia's premier competition.

Overall Head-to-head

Played: 30
Wins: 11
Draws: 11
Losses: 8


2011 | 1-1 draw | AFC Asian Cup™ Group Stage

After Australia opened its 2011 campaign with a dominant 4-0 win over India, a tougher test would await in its second group game. Koo Ja-cheol, who played a starring role for his country in Qatar, struck first with a clinical finish from inside the area on 24 minutes. Mile Jedinak responded after half time with a header from a recycled corner and it finished all-square at the Al-Gharafa Stadium. Australia would go on to top the group due to a superior goal difference.

Mile Jedinak

2015 | 1-0 loss | AFC Asian Cup™ Group Stage

Both sides headed into the final group game in 2015 with maximum points in Brisbane. However, ultimately the Aussies had to settle for second place when they could not overcome Nam Tae-hee's 36th minute sliding finish. The Socceroos toiled hard for an equaliser but their efforts were in vain. However, a big challenge would lie ahead.

Socceroos 2015

2015 | 2-1 win (AET) | AFC Asian Cup™ Final

Indeed, the pair faced off at Stadium Australia in the Final in front of more than 76,000 fans. Massimo Luongo struck a brilliant strike after receiving the ball on the turn right on the stroke of the interval. But hearts would be broken in stoppage time when Son Heung-Min expertly dispatched his one-on-one attempt beyond Maty Ryan in the 91st minute. Extra time ensued and on 105 minutes Tomi Juric's persistence set up Jame Troisi's winner, sparking scenes of jubilation. Ange Postecoglou's side were able to hold on and secure the Socceroos' first AFC Asian Cup™ title.