Olyroos' potential Olympic Football Tournament opponents confirmed

The 16 nations who will be vying for gold at this year's Tokyo 2020 Men's Olympic Football Tournament have been confirmed.

While Australia's U-23's secured passage to Tokyo back in January 2020 with a third-place finish at the AFC U-23 Championships in Thailand, Honduras and Mexico became the last two nations to qualify out of the CONCACAF region this week. 

Socceroos Browser Extension Thin Banner

As a result, the nations that will be taking part in the Olympic Men's Football Tournament are as follows: 

  • Host nation: Japan
  • Asia: South Korea, Saudia Arabia, Australia
  • Europe: Germany, Spain, France, Romania 
  • Africa: Côte d'Ivoire, South Africa, Egypt
  • South America: Argentina, Brazil
  • Central and North America: Mexico, Honduras
  • Oceania: New Zealand

FIFA recently confirmed that the draw will take place Wednesday April 21st, at 6pm AEST. It will be streamed live on the FIFA YouTube channel to allow all participants to follow proceedings from their home countries.

The 16 qualified teams will be allocated to four pots of four teams each, based on a ranking built according to past sporting performance.

From there, Australia's three opponents in the group stages of the tournament will be drawn. The tournament will be held throughout Japan between 21st July and 7th August.

MORE DETAILS: Date set for Men's Olympic Football Tournament Draw