Final 23-man squad for 2010 FIFA World Cup™ announced

Pim Verbeek announces final 23-man Qantas Socceroos squad for 2010 FIFA World Cup™ .

Sandton, South Africa

Wednesday 2 June 2010 By Adam Mark

Qantas Socceroos Head Coach Pim Verbeek today announced the 23 players that will form his squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ which begins later this month in South Africa.

Verbeek has chosen a very experienced squad with fourteen members having been in the final selection for the 2006 FIFA World Cup™ in Germany.

Missing out on final selection, from the group of Qantas Socceroos that travelled from Melbourne to South Africa last week, were youngsters James Holland, Shane Lowry, Tommy Oar and Rhys Williams.

Verbeek also indicated that, although the players omitted are not officially included in the 23-man Qantas Socceroos squad, they would continue to train with the main squad to get valuable experience, with the exception of Rhys Williams who will return home to Australia to receive treatment for his groin injury.

In addition, “fourth” goal keeper Eugene Galekovic would also continue to train with the squad in case of a late injury to either Mark Schwarzer, Adam Federici or Brad Jones in the lead up to the opening of the tournament.

The Qantas Socceroos will play their final international friendly match against the United States of America (USA) on Saturday 5th June at Ruimsig Stadium near Johannesburg.

The Qantas Socceroos have been drawn in Group D for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ and will face Germany in their opening match of the tournament on Sunday 13th June in Durban, followed by matches against Ghana on Saturday 19th June and then Serbia on Wednesday 23rd June. Should the Qantas Socceroos place in the top two positions of Group D at the end of the first phase of the competition, they will play their next opponent from Group C (England, USA, Algeria or Slovenia) in the Round of 16 on either Saturday 26th June (Rustenburg) or Sunday 27th June (Mangaung/Bloemfontein). The Quarter Finals of the tournament will be held on the 2nd and 3rd July with the Semi Finals on the 6th and 7th July and the Final to be played on the 11th July.

The Final 23 :

Player NameClub, CountryA-International matches (goals)
Michael BEAUCHAMP Al-Jazira Club, UAE 21 (1)
Mark BRESCIANO U.S. Citta di Palermo, Italy 54 (11)
Tim CAHILL Everton FC, England 39 (19)
David CARNEY FC Twente, Netherlands 24 (3)
Scott CHIPPERFIELD FC Basel, Switzerland 64 (12)
Jason CULINA Gold Coast United, Australia 48 (1)
Brett EMERTON Blackburn Rovers, England 72 (17)
Adam FEDERICI Reading FC, England 1 (0)
Richard GARCIA Hull City, England 6 (0)
Vincenzo GRELLA Blackburn Rovers, England 44 (0)
Brett HOLMAN AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands 31 (2)
Mile JEDINAK Antalyaspor Kulubu, Turkey 11 (0)
Brad JONES Middlesbrough FC, England 2 (0)
Josh KENNEDY Nagoya Grampus, Japan 19 (7)
Harry KEWELL Galatasaray SK, Turkey 45 (13)
Mark MILLIGAN JEF United, Japan 10 (1)
Craig MOORE Uncontracted 49 (3)
Lucas NEILL Galatasaray SK, Turkey 55 (0)
Nikita RUKAVYTSYA FC Twente, Netherlands 3 (0)
Mark SCHWARZER Fulham FC, England 74 (0)
Carl VALERI U.S. Sassuolo Calcio, Italy 21 (0)
Dario VIDOSIC FC Nurnberg, Germany 6 (1)
Luke WILKSHIRE FK Dinamo Moscow, Russia 41 (2)
Qantas Socceroos Upcoming Match Details :

Qantas Socceroos v USA Saturday 5 June 2010 Ruimsig Stadium, Roodepoort, South Africa Kick-Off time: 2:30pm SAST (10:30pm AEST)

2010 FIFA World Cup™ - Group D

Germany v Australia Sunday 13 June 2010 Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban Kick-Off time: 8:30pm SAST (4:30am AEST)

Ghana v Australia Saturday 19 June 2010 Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Rustenburg Kick-Off time: 4:00pm SAST (12:00am AEST)

Australia v Serbia Wednesday 23 June 2010 Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit Kick-Off time: 8:30pm SAST (4:30am AEST)

For more information regarding the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ please visit