FIFA Confederations Cup draw details

It's time to get excited because the draw for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup will take place this Sunday morning (AEDT) in Kazan, Russia. Who will the Caltex Socceroos be drawn against?

What is the FIFA Confederations Cup?

The 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup is the test event for the 2018 FIFA World Cup with the winners of all six Confederations titles joined by the host country (Russia) and current World Cup Champions (Germany). 

When is it played?

It runs from 17 June- 2 July 2017

Who plays in the tournament?

  1.            Australia              2015 AFC Asian Cup Champions (AFC - Asia)
  2. ·         Chile                     2015 Copa America winners (COMNEBOL – South America)
  3. ·         Germany             2014 FIFA World Cup Champions
  4. ·         Mexico                 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup winners (CONCACAF – Central America)
  5. ·         New Zealand     2016 OFC Nations Cup winners (OFC - Oceania)
  6. ·         Portugal               EURO 2016 winners (UEFA - Europe)
  7. ·         Russia                   Host Nation for the 2018 FIFA World Cup and 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup
  8. ·         (Nation tbc)       Winners of the CAF African Cup of Nations (Africa - CAF) * TBD in February 2017

How did Australia qualify?

The Caltex Socceroos qualified for the tournament after claiming the 2015 AFC Asian Cup on home soil in January 2015, defeating the Korea Republic 2-1 in front of 80,000 fans at ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

Adelaide-born Socceroos attacker James Troisi celebrates his winner in the Asian Cup final with Jason Davidson and Massimo Luongo.

Draw mechanism

The eight nations will be divided into two groups of four (Group A and Group B) for three matches in the Group Stage with the top two countries from each group qualifying for the semi finals before a Final (semi final winners) and 3rd/4th place playoff (semi final losers).

Host Nation Russia and the three highest ranked nations from the 24 November 2016 FIFA Rankings are in Pot 1 while the remaining four teams are in Pot 2.

Pot 1 – Russia, Germany, Chile and Portugal

Pot 2 – Mexico, Australia, New Zealand and the CAF (African) Champion

Two teams from Pot 1 and two teams from Pot 2 will be drawn to be in Group A

Two teams from Pot 1 and two teams from Pot 2 will be drawn to be in Group B

Can you watch the draw live?

Yes. The draw will take place from 2am (AEDT) on Sunday morning and will be broadcast on SBS TV 

The Caltex Socceroos starting XI against Thailand ahead of kick-off.

Caltex Socceroos’ history at this tournament

Australia has qualified for the FIFA Confederations Cup on three previous occasions but this is the first time it has qualified as Champions of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC).

Australia competed in the 1997 (Saudi Arabia), 2001 (Japan and Korea) and 2005 FIFA Confederations Cup (Germany) as Champions of Oceania (OFC) and will take part in its 4th Confederations Cup in Russia with a rich history in the tournament.

1997 Confederations Cup (Runners Up)

Group stage: Australia 3 d Mexico 1 (Riyadh)

Group stage: Australia 0 drew Brazil 0 (Riyadh)

Mark Bosnich in his Socceroos days

Group Stage: Saudi Arabia 1 d Australia 0 (Riyadh)

Semi Final: Australia 1 d Uruguay 0 (Riyadh)

Final: Brazil 6 d Australia 0 (Riyadh)

2001 Confederations Cup (third place)

Group stage: Australia 2 d Mexico 0 (Suwon)

Group stage: Australia 1 d France 0 (Daegu)

Group Stage: Korea Republic 1 d Australia 0 (Suwon)

Socceroos' 2001 confederations Cup.

Semi final: Japan 1 d Australia 0 (Yokohama)

3rd place play off: Australia 1 d Brazil 0 (Ulsan)

2005 Confederations Cup (group stage)

Group stage: Germany 4 d Australia 3 (Frankfurt)

Group stage: Argentina 4 d Australia 2 (Nuremberg)

Group stage: Tunisia 2 d Australia 0 (Leipzig)

Cahill was part of the emerging "Golden Generation" of Socceroos that played the likes of Germany and Argentina at the 2005 Confederations Cup.