De Reus names Westfield Matildas squad

Westfield Matildas Head Coach Hesterine de Reus has named a 21-player squad for upcoming internationals against New Zealand.

Westfield Matildas Head Coach Hesterine de Reus today named a 21-player squad for upcoming internationals against New Zealand.

This Westfield Matildas squad was selected following a number of training camps held at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra over the past three months and has given de Reus a good chance to get to know the players ahead of these first internationals for the year.

“I am very much looking forward to the upcoming matches”, said de Reus

“We have restructured some parts of our game and this will be a good test to see how we have adjusted.

“I have also included three players, who are currently based overseas, who I haven-t worked with yet so we will see how they fit in.

“Our matches will be a good challenge to see how the process is tracking.

“New Zealand, from what I have heard, are good rivals for Australia so I am looking forward to experiencing those matches in particular

“Later the Netherlands and France matches in Europe will be especially challenging as both teams are preparing for the UEFA Women-s tournament.

“Our overall goals at the moment are to qualify for the next FIFA Women-s World Cup and also the next Olympic Games so this is the first step on that road,” concluded de Reus.

Westfield Matildas (9) v New Zealand (20) Thursday 13 June 2013 AIS Athletics Track, Bruce, ACT Kick-Off 5:30pm AEST Note: this is a closed door match only open to authorised media

Westfield Matildas (9) v New Zealand (20) Sunday 16 June 2013 McKellar Park, Belconnen, ACT Kick-Off 2:00pm AEST

Westfield Matildas squad v New Zealand Teigen ALLEN, Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia Laura ALLEWAY, Brisbane Roar, Australia Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), Canberra Utd, Australia Tameka BUTT, Frankfurt FC, Germany Kim CARROLL, Brisbane Roar, Australia Stephanie CATLEY, Melbourne Victory, Australia Amy CHAPMAN, Brisbane Roar, Australia Brianna DAVEY, Melbourne Victory, Australia Emily GIELNIK, Ottawa Fury, Canada Kathryn GILL, Perth Glory, Australia Katrina GORRY, Brisbane Roar, Australia Michelle HEYMEN, Canberra Utd, Australia Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, Brisbane Roar, Australia Alanna KENNEDY, Sydney FC, Australia Samantha KERR, Western New York Flash, USA Shamiran KHAMIS (gk), Sydney FC, Australia Teresa POLIAS, Sydney FC, Australia Clare POLKINGHORNE, Brisbane Roar, Australia Vedrana POPOVIC, Brisbane Roar, Australia Servet UZUNLAR, Chungbuk Sports Toto WFC, Korea Republic Emily VAN EGMOND, Newcastle Jets, Australia