Confirmed: Denmark cut ex-Arsenal star from FIFA World Cup squad

Denmark have confirmed their final 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup, with former Arsenal and Juventus striker Nicklas Bendtner missing the cut.

Coach Age Hareide confirmed the four players who will not go with the team to Russia, having previously narrowed his list down from the 35 named in May.

Andreas Bjelland, Peter Ankersen, Mike Jensen and Bendtner were the players excluded, with Bendtner unable to return to fitness having suffered a groin strain in the final game of his club season with Rosenborg.

FULL 23: Caltex Socceroos finalise squad for Russia

REACTION: World view on Australia's final 23

"We don't believe they'll be fit in time for the first game against Peru, it's too tight and that match is very important," Hareide said.

"Most likely, we are battling Peru and Australia for second place, and that's why it's important to get a good start, and we have to have fit players."

Bendtner, 30, has scored 30 goals for his country in 79 appearances dating back to his debut as an 18-year-old.

Denmark's 23-man FIFA World Cup squad. Picture source: @DBUfodbold
Denmark's 23-man FIFA World Cup squad. Picture source: @DBUfodbold

Denmark will instead have to rely on Feyenoord’s Nicolai Jorgensen to deliver up front, with Tottenham ace Christian Eriksen the man tasked with providing the creative spark from midfield.

Eriksen missed Denmark’s 0-0 draw with Sweden on Sunday as he awaits the birth of his first child.


Goalkeepers: Jonas Lossl (Huddersfield Town), Frederik Ronnow (Brondby), Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City) 

Defenders: Andreas Christensen (Chelsea), Henrik Dalsgaard (Brentford), Simon Kjaer (Sevilla), Jonas Knudsen (Ipswich Town), Jens Stryger Larsen (Udinese), Mathias Jorgensen (Huddersfield Town), Jannik Vestergaard (Borussia Monchengladbach)

Midfielders: Thomas Delaney (Werder Bremen), Christian Eriksen (Tottenham), Lukas Lerager (Bordeaux), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Deportivo La Coruna), William Kvist (Copenhagen), Lasse Schone (Ajax), Pione Sisto (Celta Vigo)

Forwards: Martin Braithwaite (Bordeaux), Andreas Cornelius (Atalanta), Kasper Dolberg (Ajax), Viktor Fischer (Copenhagen), Nicolai Jorgensen (Feyenoord), Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig)

Players cut: Andreas Bjelland (Brentford), Peter Ankersen (FC Copenhagen), Mike Jensen (Rosenborg), Nicklas Bendtner (Rosenborg)