Cahill wondergoal nominated for Puskas Award

The highlight of Australia's campaign in Brazil could yet be recognised with an official accolade, although it's up against some stiff competition

Socceroo star Tim Cahill's extraordinary volley at the 2014 World Cup has been nominated by FIFA as one of the ten goals fans can vote on in the Puskas Award for best goal of the year.

The New York Red Bulls veteran volleyed home a cross from Ryan McGowan to draw Australia level at 1-1 in their Group B clash with the Netherlands in Porto Alegre.

The Socceroo was surprisingly overlooked for the top five goals of the tournament in Brazil, but that oversight has not been rectified by world football's governing body.

The process of finding a winner has begun today with fans across the globe now able to vote online with the top three goals decided by December 1 and the winner announced in January, 2015.


Another milestone in my career to be nominated for the Fifa Ballon D'or Puskas Award. Always chasing my dreams and wanting to inspire others to do the same, nothing changes as i want a big end to the season for @newyorkredbulls and #AsiaCup in Jan. Big kisses to my parents and family love you all the World. #@tc4academy vote here #Fearless

A video posted by Tim Cahill (@tim_cahill) on Nov 11, 2014 at 3:31pm PST

Vote the Cahill's goal at

Puskas Award shortlist:

Tim Cahill – 18 June 2014, Australia v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™
Diego Costa – 23 November 2013, Atlético Madrid v. Getafe, Primera División (Spain)
Marco Fabian – 15 February 2014, Cruz Azul v. Puebla, 1a División 2014 Clausura (Mexico)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic – 19 October 2013, Paris St. Germain v. SC Bastia, Ligue 1 (France)
Pajtim Kasami – 21 October 2013, Crystal Palace v. Fulham, Premier League (England)
Stephanie Roche -20 October 2013, Peamount United v. Wexford Youths, BEWNL (Rep.Ireland)
James Rodriguez – 28 June 2014 – Colombia v. Uruguay,  2014 FIFA World Cup™
Camilo Sanvezzo – 6 October 2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps v. Portland Timbers, MLS (USA/Canada)
Hisato Sato – 8 March 2014 – Sanfrecce Hiroshima v. Kawasaki Frontale, J.League (Japan)
Robin van Persie – 13 June 2014 – Spain v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™

Users of and will be able to choose from the ten goals until 1 December, when the three goals with the most votes will be disclosed.

Immediately after the announcement on 1 December, and users will be able to vote again for their favorite from the three remaining goals.

The winner will be revealed on the day of the FIFA Ballon d’Or on 12 January 2015, which is during the upcoming AFC Asian Cup.

Voting will close during the show.