Cahill nominated by FIFA for goal of the year

Socceroo star Tim Cahill's extraordinary volley at the 2014 FIFA World Cup has been nominated by FIFA as one of the ten goals fans can vote on in the Puskas Award for best goal of the year.

The process of finding a winner has begun today with fans across the globe now able to vote online with the top three goals decided by December 1 and the winner announced in January, 2015. 


See Tim Cahill’s incredible World Cup goal right here

The ten goals are (in alphabetical order of the scorer’s names):

Tim Cahill – 18 June 2014, Australia v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™
Diego Costa – 23 November 2013, Atlético Madrid v. Getafe, Primera División (Spain)
Marco Fabian – 15 February 2014, Cruz Azul v. Puebla, 1a División 2014 Clausura (Mexico)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic – 19 October 2013, Paris St. Germain v. SC Bastia, Ligue 1 (France)
Pajtim Kasami – 21 October 2013, Crystal Palace v. Fulham, Premier League (England)
Stephanie Roche -20 October 2013, Peamount United v. Wexford Youths, BEWNL (Rep.Ireland)
James Rodriguez – 28 June 2014 – Colombia v. Uruguay,  2014 FIFA World Cup™
Camilo Sanvezzo – 6 October 2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps v. Portland Timbers, MLS (USA/Canada)
Hisato Sato – 8 March 2014 – Sanfrecce Hiroshima v. Kawasaki Frontale, J.League (Japan)
Robin van Persie – 13 June 2014 – Spain v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™

Videos of the ten goals, as well as the list of scorers and the voting tool, can be found here.

Users of and will be able to choose from the ten goals until 1 December, when the three goals with the most votes will be disclosed.

Immediately after the announcement on 1 December, and users will be able to vote again for their favorite from the three remaining goals.

The winner will be revealed on the day of the FIFA Ballon d’Or on 12 January 2015, which is during the upcoming AFC Asian Cup. 

Voting will close during the show.

The FIFA Puskás Award, created in honor and in memory of Ferenc Puskás, the captain and star of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s, will be presented for the sixth year in a row at the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014, which will be held at the Kongresshaus in Zurich.

During a televised show, the winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or for the best player of 2014 as well as the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2014 will also be revealed.

Meanwhile, the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football award and the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football award will be presented for the fifth time. The FIFA FIFPro World XI, the FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented during the show.