Aussies at Home: A-League Men's Season Preview 2022/23

The new A-League Men season is set to kick off, with plenty of Subway Socceroos and Australian youth representatives involved!

As the lead-up to the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 continues, take a team-by-team which Subway Socceroos are set to be involved, plus the Olyroos looking to kick on after the AFC U23 Asian Cup Uzbekistan and Young Socceroos recently returned from the U-20 Costa Cálida Supercup in Spain. 

Socceroos home jersey 2022 - Our Story Is Never Done

Central Coast Mariners

Two of the most notable inclusions in September's Subway Socceroos squad, both Jason Cummings and Newcastle United-bound Garang Kuol are set to kick off their campaigns with the Central Coast Mariners. 

Goalkeeper Danny Vukovic is also back at the Gosford-based club and will be keen to impress, having taken on the captain's armband after returning. 

U23's Jacob Farrell and Josh Nisbet are back for the Mariners after representing the Australia U23's at the AFC U23 Asian Cup in June, while they also boast Young Socceroo Nectarios Triantis among their ranks. 

Garang Kuol and Jason Cummings

Melbourne City 

Out of all the A-League Men teams, Melbourne City currently boast the highest Subway Socceroos representation based off recent call-ups.

Jamie Maclaren, Mathew Leckie and Marco Tilio are expected to be the impetus behind a potent City forward line. Subway Olyroos fullback Jordan Bos will also be looking to gain more minutes after a promising campaign last time out. 

Raphael Borges Rodrigues and James Nieuwenhuizen are the recently called-up Young Socceroos in their ranks. 

Jamie Maclaren

Sydney FC

Peru shootout hero Andrew Redmayne will be keen to hit the ground running with the Sky Blues, as will defender Rhyan Grant and help lead a bounce-back campaign after missing finals last season.

Striker Patrick Wood and Patrick Yazbek will be looking to kick on following breakout seasons that led to representing the Subway Olyroos at the AFC U23 Asian Cup 2023 in June. 

Adrian Segecic is a Young Socceroo to watch, having recently scored for the U20's over in Spain and also finding the back of the net for the Sky Blues at senior level throughout their Australia Cup campaign. 

Andrew Redmayne celebrates after stopping the final penalty to send Australia to the World Cup

Adelaide United

Craig Goodwin will again be integral to the success of Adelaide United's chances of making finals, with the winger keen to put behind an interrupted pre-season that saw him out of contention to be called up for the Subway Socceroos in Septe,ber. 

Young goalkeeper Joe Gauci will also be one to keep an eye on after enjoying a breakout season with the Reds and experiencing a solid tournament with the Subway Olyroos at the AFC U23 Asian Cup 2023 in Uzbekistan. Louis D'Arrigo and Bernardo, who both scored at that tournament for the U23s will also be keen to kick on, although the latter will miss the first three months with injury.

Subway Young Socceroo Steven Hall will be amongst Adelaide's goalkeeping stocks, with Kane Vidmar involved in the youth system. 

One exciting name is Nestory Irankunda - currently in camp with the Subway Joeys - who already has three goals in 13 league appearances at just 16 years of age. 

Craig Goodwin celebrates with his teammates after qualifying for the World Cup


Melbourne Victory 

Nick D'Agostino, Ben Folami, and Chris Ikonomidis have all been part of the Subway Socceroos camps in the last year. D'Agostino in particular proved a revelation for Melbourne Victory, scoring 12 goals under Tony Popovic and will no doubt be determined to consolidate a strong campaign as Victory look to make another tilt at the title.


Other Youth Representatives

Subway Olyroos 

Kai Trewin - Brisbane Roar

Jordan Courtney-Perkins - Brisbane Roar (on loan from Raków Częstochowa)  

Ramy Najjarine - Western Sydney Wanderers 

Kusini Yengi - Western Sydney Wanderers 

Subway Young Socceroos 

Sam Klein - Brisbane Roar 

Archie Goodwin - Newcastle Jets 

Chris Donnell - Perth Glory 

Joseph Forde - Perth Glory 

Kaelan Majekodunmi - Perth Glory 

Alexander Badolato - Western Sydney Wanderers 

Alessandro Lopane - Western Sydney Wanderers

Jack Warshawsky - Western Sydney Wanderers 

Rhys Bozinovski - Western United