Aussies Abroad: Vukovic earns player of the season honours

Caltex Socceroos winger Tommy Oar has tasted title success in Cyprus as his club APOEL Nicosia ended won the league on the final day of the season, while goalkeeper Danny Vukovic was honoured as KRC Genk's player of the season.

Oar, who didn’t make the cut for Bert van Marwijk’s 32-man preliminary FIFA World Cup squad was an unused substitute in APOEL’s 2-1 win over Anorthosis as his team finished first and ensured UEFA Champions League football again next season.

It’s APOEL’s 27th Cypriot First Division title and came courtesy of a Mickael Pote 89th minute strike, which sent fans into raptures.

Oar ended the season with 11 league starts for APOEL and a total of 937 minutes played.

APOEL were also helped by Apollon Limassol losing on the final day of the season to AC Omonia.

Apollon Limassol will now play Apostolos Giannou’s AEK Larnaca in the Cypriot Cup final.

Giannou was an unused substitute for Larnaca as they closed out their season with a 3-2 win over AEL Limassol.

Elsewhere with Aussies from around the world, Danny Vukovic played the full game for KRC Genk as they won 4-1 over Charleroi.

Before the game, Vukovic was awarded the Golden Shoe award for Genk, after he was voted by fans as their player of the season.

More joy could come for Vukovic, with their win leaving them in fifth place, just one point of KAA Gent with one game to play.

In the Belgium First Division, a fifth place league finish will see Vukovic’s team qualilfy for the Europa League play-off against Zulte Waregem. But if results go their way on the final matchday – with Genk beating Anderlecht and KAA Gent dropping points to title winners Club Brugge – Vukovic’s side could go straight to the Europa League third round qualifying stage.

Finally, in Japan over the weekend, goalkeeper Mitchell Langerak pulled off three fine saves for Nagoya Grampus.

Unfortunately it wasn’t enough, with his side falling 3-0 to V-Varen Nagasaki, a result which sees Nagoya stuck on the bottom of the 18-team J.League competition.