2019 AFC Asian Cup competing nations confirmed

The 24 nations have been finalised for next year’s AFC Asian Cup in the UAE as the Caltex Socceroos look to defend the historic title they won on home soil in 2015.

It’s the first time in the competition’s history their will 24 nations taking part, instead of the usual 16.

Qualifying began less than two months after the Caltex Socceroos lifted the trophy in January 2015, when 12 teams faced off in the first round of qualifiers.

Since then there’s been a second round of qualifiers, a playoff round, and the recently-concluded third and final round.

Among the 24 nations to have qualified are Kyrgyzstan, Philippines and Yemen, who will all be making their first appearances at Asia’s continental showpiece.

As hosts, United Arab Emirates are obviously there along with fellow Asian powerhouses, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Iran, Japan, and Korea Republic, Uzbekistan.

Iraq, Syria and China PR will also hope to go deep into the tournament.

Check out all 24 nations that will be at the tournament below.

The 24 nations will be split into 6 groups like at the 2016 European Championships, with 4 teams in each group fighting for the top two automatic qualification spots.

To complete the round of 16, the four best third-placed nations from the six groups will qualify.

The draw for the tournament is to be held in Dubai in early May.


United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Qatar, Iran, Japan, Thailand, Korea Republic, Uzbekistan, Iraq, Syria, China PR, India, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, DPR Korea, Jordan, Vietnam, Oman, Palestine, Bahrain, Turkmenistan, Philippines, Yemen