12 Grand Finalists make Socceroos squad

Socceroos Head Coach Pim Verbeek has selected a squad of 24 players for the upcoming AFC Asian Cup 2011 Qualifier match, presented by FOXTEL, against Kuwait in Canberra on Thursday 5 March (kick-off 8.00pm AEDT).

Socceroos Head Coach Pim Verbeek has selected a squad of 24 players for the upcoming AFC Asian Cup 2011 Qualifier match, presented by FOXTEL, against Kuwait in Canberra on Thursday 5 March (kick-off 8.00pm AEDT).

Twelve players from the Qantas Socceroo squad will be involved in this weekend-s Hyundai A-League 2009 Grand Final where Melbourne Victory host Adelaide United at the Telstra Dome. Each team has six representatives in the squad.

Whilst Fabian Barbiero, Daniel Mullen, Mitch Nichols and Ben Kantarovski have been rewarded for their recent form in the Hyundai A-League with their first call-up to the Socceroos squad. Mullen, Nichols and Kantarovski are all key players for the Qantas Young Socceroos, who will play in the FIFA World Youth Championship later this year in Egypt.

Daniel Mullen-s father, Joe, played two matches for the Socceroos in 1988 against European clubs IFK Gøtenburg & Dinamo Zagreb.

Nikolai Topor-Stanley is the only Qantas Socceroo squad member who hails from Canberra, having graduated from the ACT Academy of Sport and the Australian Institute of Sport, before joining local club Belconnen United at senior level. Topor-Stanley has recently completed a moved to the Newcastle Jets having previously played for Perth Glory and Sydney FC in the Hyundai A-League.

The Socceroos are drawn in Group B of the AFC Asian Cup 2011 qualification stage along with Indonesia, Kuwait and Oman. The top two teams from each group of the qualification stage will progress to the AFC Asian Cup 2011 which will be held in Qatar.

The Socceroos are currently sitting in third position of Group B, with Kuwait in fourth.

All Socceroos matches are broadcast live and exclusive on FOX Sports.

Socceroos SQUAD - Tuesday 24 February 2009

Danny ALLSOPP - Melbourne Victory 3 (0) Fabian BARBIERO - Adelaide United Billy CELESKI - Melbourne Victory 1 (0) Shannon COLE - Sydney FC Robert CORNTHWAITE - Adelaide United Tarek ELRICH - Newcastle Jets Eugene GALEKOVIC - Adelaide United 1 (0) Dean HEFFERNAN - Central Coast Mariners 1 (0) Scott JAMIESON - Adelaide United 1 (0) Ben KANTAROVSKI - Newcastle Jets Matthew McKAY - Queensland Roar 2 (0) Craig MOORE - Queensland Roar 42 (3) Daniel MULLEN - Adelaide United Mitch NICHOLS - Queensland Roar Tom PONDELJAK - Melbourne Victory 5 (0) Paul REID - Adelaide United 1 (0) Matt SIMON - Central Coast Mariners 1 (0) Michael THEOKLITOS - Melbourne Victory Archie THOMPSON - Melbourne Victory 31 (21) Matthew THOMPSON - Newcastle Jets 1 (0) Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY - Newcastle Jets 3 (0) Rodrigo VARGAS - Melbourne Victory 1 (0) Danny VUKOVIC - Central Coast Mariners Michael ZULLO - Queensland Roar 1 (0)

Match Details

AFC Asian Cup 2011 Qualifying Stage - Group B - Match Details

Australia v Kuwait Thursday 5 March 2009 Kick-off 8:00pm AEDT (7:30pm ACDT, 7:00pm AEST, 6:00pm AWDT) Canberra Stadium, Canberra

Ticket Prices

Category A - $60 - all tickets Category B - $40 Adult, $20 Concession, $100 Family Category C - $25 Adult, $15 Concession, $65 Family

Concession (Pensioner, Student, Child) - Pensioner - Aged, TPI (valid ID cards) including seniors cards - Student - Full time tertiary and secondary school students (valid ID required) - Child - 4-16 years inclusive (children 3 years and under are free unless they are occupying a seat) Family - 2 Adults and 2 Children

Tickets are available from Ticketek (web: www.ticketek.com.au, Phone: 132 894 and all Ticketek agencies)

Fast football facts

Socceroos have played in Canberra six times, between 1976 and 1996 (W3-D1-L2) namely: 11/08/1976 v Hong Kong (Friendly) L0-1 (A-international) 27/01/1980 v Czechoslovakia (Friendly) L0-4 (A-international) 25/01/1981 v Dinamo Zagreb (Friendly) D3-3 (non-A international) 23/09/1985 v China Select (Friendly) W2-0 (non-A international) 26/02/1988 v Taiwan W3-0 (Olympic Games Qualifier W3-0 (A-international) 01/11/1996 v Tahiti W5-0 (Oceania Nations Cup - final, 2nd leg) W5-0 (A-international)

- Biggest crowd to see a Socceroos match in Canberra: 15,283 (Australia 0 v Czechoslovakia 4) on 27 January 1980 at Canberra Stadium - Canberra Stadium opened in 1977, football first played there in 1978 - Canberra hosted 11 football games at 2000 Olympic (5 men-s, 6 women-s)