Olyroos' pot allocated for Tokyo 2020 Olympic football draw

With under 100 days until the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games commences, the pots for the next week's draw of the Men's Football Tournament have been announced.  

The 16 men's teams will be allocated into four pots based on a ranking built according to performances at the past five Olympic football tournaments.

The ranking is weighted so that recent performances play a more prominent role, and a bonus is given to those nations who finished their qualifying competition as continental champions.


The official pot allocation for the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament is as follows:

Pot 1: Japan, Brazil, Argentina, Korea Republic
Pot 2: Mexico, Germany, Honduras, Spain
Pot 3: Egypt, New Zealand, Côte d’Ivoire, South Africa
Pot 4: Australia, Saudi Arabia, France, Romania

READ MORE: How to watch the Tokyo 2020 draw

During this draw, the 16 nations will be drawn into four groups of four (Groups A to D) - with no group including more than one team from the same confederation. 

Alongside Tokyo, Sapporo, Miyagi, Kashima, Saitama and Yokohama will also host matches between 21st July and 7th August.

FIFA's full Match Schedule and Men’s Draw Procedures can be found here.