World Cup countdown - 77 days to go

Roll up, roll up! Brazil 2014 will see yet another country make its debut at the biggest sports tournament on the planet.

Roll up, roll up! Brazil 2014 will see yet another country make its debut at the biggest sports tournament on the planet.

After winning eight of their ten matches on their way to qualification, Bosnia and Herzegovina will become the 77th nation to compete in the World Cup Finals since the first tournament in 1930.

2014 hosts Brazil featured in that inaugural 1930 World Cup, as did one of Australia-s Group B opponents for Brazil 2014, Chile. The other two countries in the Socceroos- group at the upcoming tournament, Netherlands and Spain, both lined up in the World Cup Finals for the first time in 1934.

The Socceroos- debut appearance on the World stage came in 1974, with Australians having to wait until 2006 for the country-s next participation. However, come June this year, it will be the third straight time the Socceroos will be on the world stage.

The years countries made their debuts in World Cup Finals are as follows… 1930 - Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, France, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Romania, USA, Uruguay, Yugoslavia* 1934 - Austria, Czechoslovakia*, Egypt, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland 1938 - Cuba, Dutch East Indies, Norway, Poland 1950 - England 1954 - Korea Republic, Scotland, Turkey, West Germany* 1958 - Northern Ireland, Soviet Union*, Wales 1962 - Bulgaria, Columbia 1966 - DPR Korea, Portugal 1970 - El Salvador, Israel, Morocco 1974 - Australia, East Germany*, Haiti, Zaire* 1978 - Iran, Tunisia 1982 - Algeria, Cameroon, Honduras, Kuwait, New Zealand 1986 - Canada, Denmark, Iraq 1990 - Costa Rica, Republic of Ireland, United Arab Emirates 1994 - Greece, Nigeria, Russia*, Saudi Arabia 1998 - Croatia, Jamaica, Japan, South Africa, Yugoslavia* 2002 - China PR, Ecuador, Senegal, Slovenia* 2006 - Angola, Cote d-Ivoire, Czech Republic*, Ghana, Serbia and Montenegro*, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine 2010 - Serbia*, Slovakia* 2014 - Bosnia and Herzegovina

* Teams in parentheses are considered successor teams by FIFA *This total number of teams which have participated in the World Cup uses FIFA's view on successor teams (e.g. Russia is a successor of USSR and not a separate team).

The final chance to see the Socceroos on home soil before they head to Brazil 2014 will be when they take on South Africa in a farewell game on May 26 in Sydney. Tickets for the match, presented by NAB, are on sale now. Click here to secure yours today.