Westfield Young Matildas training camp squad named

Head Coach of the Westfield Young Matildas, Alen Stajcic, has selected a 25-player squad for the training camp in Sydney

Head Coach of the Westfield Young Matildas, Alen Stajcic, has selected a 25-player squad for the training camp at Sydney Olympic Park Athletic Centre in Homebush, Sydney, from Friday 26 through to Monday 29 June.   The camp forms part of the preparations for the upcoming AFC U-19 Women's Championships 2009 to be held in the Chinese city of Wuhan from 1 to 12 August. The Championships will also double as the qualification process for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup to be held in Germany next year.   "This camp will give our squad yet another opportunity to prepare prior to our departure to China in August," said Stajcic.   "The players comprise mostly of those that toured recently to Italy and Thailand.  The tour was a valuable learning experience for the squad.   "Again, this camp will aid with the selection process for the final squad that will travel to China," concluded Stajcic.   Australia qualified for the chance to compete in the AFC U-19 Women's Championships late last year in Kuala Lumpur by winning three of their four matches to finish a convincing second in their group.  The Championships will see Australia match up against Japan, China and Chinese Taipei in their Group B matches.

For further information on the AFC U-19 Women's Championships 2009, please visit the AFC's website www.the-afc.com

Player Westfield W-League Club Season 2008/09
Teigan Allen NSWIS
Courtney Beutel Queensland Roar
Ruth Blackburn Queensland Roar
Nicola Bolger Sydney FC
Tameka Butt Queensland Roar
Alesha Clifford Sydney FC
Nikola Deiter Sydney FC
Casey Dumont Queensland Roar
Angela Fimmano Adelaide United
Elise Kellond-Knight Queensland Roar
Samantha Kerr Perth Glory
Rebecca Kiting Canberra United
Ella Mastrantonio Perth Glory
Sian McLaren Adelaide United
Linda O-Neill Sydney FC
Teresa Polias Central Coast Mariners
Karina Roweth Central Coast Mariners
Jessica Seaman Sydney FC
Gema Simon Newcastle Jets
Kyah Simon Central Coast Mariners
Ashleigh Sykes Canberra United
Nicole Sykes Canberra United
Marianna Tabain Perth Glory
Emily van Egmond Newcastle Jets
Christine Walters Canberra United