Scotland side named for Aussie encounter

Scotland will still be without skipper Darren Fletcher when they take on the Qantas Socceroos.

Scotland manager Craig Levein has named his squad to take on the Qantas Socceroos when the two teams clash at Easter Road on August 15 and the Scots will once again be without Manchester United star and national captain Darren Fletcher, who is still recovering from a bowel complaint.

While Fletcher will not feature he has trained with the squad and the manager is confident Fletcher can make a recovery and return to football.

"He is not in the squad because he has not played for Manchester United but he will come back and do a bit of training with us," Levein said.

"I have been in touch with him every two or three weeks throughout the summer.

"I don't want to go into the medical side of things but I'm just delighted to say that he is going to do some training with us.

"We will see how he gets on between now and September and I think you'll guess that if he is fit he will be in the team."

While Fletcher won-t be there for Scotland, Liverpool midfielder Charlie Adam will be and one would expect him to be the key to Scotland-s chances in the match as he pulls the strings in the midfield

While Adam is of course a big inclusion, defender Lee Wallace was one of many Rangers players to fall from grace, the defender who has been somewhat of a regular for Scotland is out of the side, the manager not happy to have to pick players from the Scottish third tier.

"Lee Wallace is a good example and I wouldn't close the door on him at all," he said.

"The best scenario is for players to be playing at the top level to play international football it makes it so much easier to step from one to the other.

"It is very difficult for anyone playing in the Third Division in Scotland to be up to the speed of an international match. No way am I closing the door at all I just think it is more difficult for Lee to get in now than it was previously."

The full Scotland squad reads as follows:

Allan McGregor (Besiktas), Matt Gilks (Blackpool), David Marshall (Cardiff) Alan Hutton (Aston Villa), Phil Bardsley (Sunderland), Christophe Berra (Wolves), Gary Caldwell (Wigan), Daniel Fox (Southampton), Grant Hanley (Blackburn), Russell Martin (Norwich), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic), Andy Webster (Hearts) Charlie Adam (Liverpool), Barry Bannan (Aston Villa), Don Cowie (Cardiff), Graham Dorrans (West Brom), James Forrest (Celtic), Shaun Maloney (Wigan), James Morrison (West Brom), Robert Snodgrass (Norwich) Matt Phillips (Blackpool), Jamie Mackie (QPR), Steven Naismith (Everton), Jordan Rhodes (Huddersfield).