Postecoglou makes two changes for opening WCQ

Head Coach Ange Postecoglou has made two changes to the Socceroos squad to face Kyrgyzstan in the opening 2018 World Cup Qualifier with Massimo Luongo and Trent Sainsbury ruled out with minor injuries.

Sainsbury (hamstring) and Luongo (ankle) have been ruled out of the match with uncapped players Daniel de Silva and Croatia-based defender Tomislav Mrcela called into the squad.

Mrcela has been selected following consistent good form for NK Lokomotiva Zagreb in the Croatian first division. The Perth-born central defender left Australia as an 11-year-old but has been on Postecoglou’s radar for the last two years.

De Silva has been drafted into the Socceroos squad after catching Postecoglou’s eye in recent Young Socceroos’ matches on the back of some strong performances for Perth Glory in the Hyundai A-League.

“It is a shame to lose Massimo and Trent but it gives an opportunity for two young players who we have been watching for a while in Tomislav and Daniel,” Postecoglou said.

“Daniel is a prodigious talent who has been progressing well and after watching him play for the Young Socceroos against the likes of Brazil and Mexico he has earned a chance with the Socceroos.

"Tomislav has put together two strong seasons in Croatia and he is a big strong central defender we think can add something to the squad.”

Both players will join their Socceroo team mates in Dubai for a training camp starting on 8 June ahead of the clash with Kyrgyzstan at the Dolen Omurzakov Stadium in Bishkek on 16 June.

The Australia v Kyrgyzstan match will be broadcast exclusively LIVE on FOX SPORTS 4 (channel 505) and on a one hour delay on SBS.

Socceroos squad for 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier v Kyrgyzstan


Club, Country

A International Caps (Goals)

Aziz Behich

Bursaspor, Turkey

10 (2)

Oliver Bozanic

FC Luzern, Switzerland

7 (0)

Nathan Burns

Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

12 (0)

Tim Cahill

Shanghai Greenland Shenhua F.C., China

82 (39)

Jason Davidson

West Bromwich Albion F.C., England

18 (1)

Daniel de Silva

Perth Glory, Australia


Tarek Elrich

Adelaide United, Australia

1 (0)

Ivan Franjic


19 (0)

Eugene Galekovic

Adelaide United, Australia

8 (0)

Chris Ikonomidis

S. S. Lazio, Italy

1 (0)

Mile Jedinak

Crystal Palace FC, England

58 (8)

Tomi Juric

Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia

12 (2)

Mitchell Langerak (gk)

B.V. Borussia 09 Dortmund, Germany

6 (0)

Mathew Leckie

FC Ingolstadt 04, Germany

24 (1)

Matt McKay

Brisbane Roar, Australia

55 (2)

Mark Milligan

Melbourne Victory FC, Australia

39 (3)

Tomislav Mrcela

NK Lokomotiva Zagreb, Croatia


Tommy Oar

FC Utrecht, Netherlands

22 (1)

Mat Ryan (gk)

Club Brugge KV, Belgium

20 (0)

Matthew Spiranovic

Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia

26 (0)

James Troisi

S.V. Zulte Waregem, Belgium

23 (4)

Alex Wilkinson

Jeonbuk Hyundai FC, Korea Republic

14 (0)

Bailey Wright

Preston North End FC, England

3 (1)

Socceroo Match Details

Kyrgyzstan v Australia

Dolen Omurzakov Stadium, Bishkek

Tuesday 16 June 2015

9pm kick off (1am AEST)