Osieck finalises East Asian Cup squad

Qantas Socceroos head coach Holger Osieck has trimmed his squad for the East Asian Cup, with more than a few players in line for senior national debuts.

Qantas Socceroos Head Coach Holger Osieck today named his final squad of 20-players for the East Asian Football Federation (EAFF) East Asian Cup 2013 qualifying tournament.

From the original provisional Qantas Socceroos squad named last week, Dario Vidosic, Rostyn Griffiths and Luke Wilkshire were ruled out of final selection due to injury and Ben Halloran & Osama Malik were not selected in the final squad.

Terry Antonis, Dino Djulbic, Ivan Franjic, Michael Marrone, Aaron Mooy, Mat Ryan, Matt Smith and Adam Taggart are all in line to make their senior international debuts for the Qantas Socceroos.

The Qantas Socceroos will depart for Hong Kong tomorrow morning (Friday 30 November) and will play their first match of the tournament against Hong Kong on Monday 3 December (kick-off 8:50pm AEDT), followed by DPR Korea on Wednesday 5 December (kick-off 11:30pm AEDT), then Guam on Friday 7 December (kick-off 8:50pm AEDT) with their final match of the tournament against Chinese Taipei on Sunday 9 December (kick-off 8:00pm AEDT).

The teams that will participate in the EAFF East Asian Cup for men are Japan, Korea Republic & China PR with a fourth team determined by a qualification process. The qualifiers for the men-s edition of the EAFF East Asian Cup 2013 will be played in Hong Kong from 1-9 December 2012 and will involve teams from Australia, Chinese-Taipei, Guam, Hong Kong & DPR Korea.

The EAFF East Asian Cup 2013 will be held in Seoul, Korea Republic from 20-28 July 2013.

Qantas Socceroos Provisional Squad for EAFF East Asian Cup Qualifiers

Terry ANTONIS Sydney FC Eli BABALJ FK Crvena Zvezda Beograd Aziz BEHICH Melbourne Heart FC Robert CORNTHWAITE Chunnam Dragons Dino DJULBIC Guizhou Renhe Ivan FRANJIC Brisbane Roar FC Brett EMERTON Sydney FC Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk) Adelaide United Richard GARCIA Melbourne Heart FC Scott JAMIESON Perth Glory FC Michael MARRONE Melbourne Heart FC Matt McKAY Busan I Park Mark MILLIGAN Melbourne Victory FC Aaron MOOY Western Sydney Wanderers FC Tom ROGIC Central Coast Mariners FC Mat RYAN (gk) Central Coast Mariners FC Matt SMITH Brisbane Roar FC Adam TAGGART Newcastle Jets FC Archie THOMPSON Melbourne Victory FC Michael THWAITE Perth Glory FC