Okon selects Young Socceroos squad

Paul Okon has selected his Young Socceroos squad and some big names have been included.

Qantas Young Socceroos Head Coach Paul Okon has selected a 23-player squad for a training camp in Brisbane from 8 to 14 June 2012.

Okon is looking forward to working with this group of players for the first time.

“This camp will be very useful to get an idea on the fitness levels of each of the players,” said Okon.

“This knowledge is important to know as we will be playing every second day in Indonesia at the U-22 qualifiers and it will be quite demanding on the players in the hot and humid conditions.

“These are the first steps in what are going to be a very important six months in the lead up to the World Cup qualifiers.

“Everything we do now is geared towards preparing for this qualification campaign,” concluded Okon.

The Qantas Young Socceroos will attend the 2014 FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifier between the Qantas Socceroos and Japan on Tuesday 12 June and will play a friendly match against the Brisbane Strikers on Wednesday 13 June at Perry Park (Kick-Off 7pm).

Following this training camp, and as part of their preparations for the AFC U-19 Championships, the Qantas Young Socceroos will represent Australia at the AFC U-22 Qualification Tournament which will be held in Indonesia in July of this year.

The Qantas Young Socceroos will then compete at the AFC U-19 Championships in the UAE in November, which will also serve as the qualifiers for the 2013 FIFA U-20 World Cup which will be held in Turkey next June/ July.

Qantas Young Socceroos Squad for Brisbane Training Camp

Name Club Terry Antonis Sydney FC Jake Barker-Daish Adelaide United Josh Brillante Newcastle Jets Corey Brown Brisbane Roar Reece Caira Uncontracted Connor Chapman Newcastle Jets Mitch Cooper Newcastle Jets James Donachie Brisbane Roar Jack Duncan (gk) Newcastle Jets Giancarlo Gallifuoco Tottenham Hotspur, England Ben Garuccio AIS Nicholas Fitzgerald Brisbane Roar Jason Geria Brisbane Roar Curtis Good Melbourne Heart Jesse Makarounas Perth Glory Nick Munro (gk) Croydon Kings, SA (SA State League) Brandon O-Neill Perth Glory Yianni Perkatis Blacktown City, NSW (NSW Premier League) Daniel Petkovski Sydney FC Anthony Proia Brisbane Roar Adam Taggart Newcastle Jets David Vrankovic Bonnyrigg White Eagles, (NSW Premier League) Riley Woodcock Perth Glory