Jedinak and Gorry named FFA Footballers of the Year

Mile Jedinak and Katrina Gorry were today named the Football Federation Australia’s top Male and Female Footballers of the Year for 2014, adding to their recent awards at the Asian Football Confederation Awards night.

Jedinak claimed the award for the second consecutive year after breaking through for his first Footballer of the Year Award in 2013. Jedinak was also named the AFC’s International Player of the year. Both awards were bestowed upon Jedinak following his outstanding performances as the captain of Crystal Palace FC in the English Premier League and also through his captaincy and performances for the Socceroos throughout 2014, including the FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

For Gorry the gong goes well with the AFC Women’s Player of the Year Award she collected recently at the AFC Annual Awards which were held in Manila. Gorry was a leading member of the Westfield Matildas team that were runners-up at the AFC Women’s Asian Cup in Vietnam last July. At club level Gorry’s team, Brisbane Roar FC, did not figure in the Westfield W-League Finals Series, but she was still a stand-out performer scoring twice in the final two rounds of the season.

In the other professional category awards the Female U20 Footballer of the Year went to Samantha Kerr and Adelaide United’s Awer Mabil took out Male U20 Footballer of the Year.

The FFA awards are decided on the votes of National Team coaches and FFA technical and coaching staff.

2014 FFA Footballer of the Year Awards

Footballer of the Year (male): Mile Jedinak, Crystal Palace FC

Footballer of the Year (female): Katrina Gorry, Brisbane Roar FC

U20 Footballer of the Year (male): Awer Mabil, Adelaide United

U20 Footballer of the Year (female): Samantha Kerr, Perth Glory