How Tuesday's FIFA World Cup draw works

On Tuesday night (April 12) in Kuala Lumpur, the draw for the final round of AFC 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers will be made, with Caltex Socceroos eagerly awaiting the outcome.

It’ll be an exciting night as Australia find out which of the ten other nations they could meet on the Road to Russia 2018. 

The six pots are based on the latest FIFA rankings, which came out last week.

The only nation the Socceroos cannot be drawn against is Iran, who are Asia’s highest ranked nation while Australia are second in Asia.

Socceroos Tim Cahill, Robbie Kruse and Tom Rogic celebrate a goal against Jordan.

The draw will see 12 teams separated into Pots 1 to 6 (below) with the teams then being drawn to form two groups of six nations.

The six teams in each group will play each other on a home and away basis with top two sides from each group booking their place at the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals.

Seedings for 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers final round draw

Pot 1: Iran (42nd), Australia (50th)
Pot 2: Korea Republic (56th), Japan (57th)
Pot 3: Saudi Arabia (60th), Uzbekistan (66th)
Pot 4: United Arab Emirates (68th), China PR (81st)
Pot 5: Qatar (83rd), Iraq (105th)
Pot 6: Syria (110th), Thailand (119th)

The two third-placed teams will face each other over two legs, with the winner taking on the side that finishes fourth in the fifth round of the CONCACAF qualifiers in a two-legged inter-confederation playoff.