Holger Osieck names Qantas Socceroos squad for Egypt match

The latest squad announcement ahead of the Qantas Socceroos upcoming friendly

Qantas Socceroos Head Coach Holger Osieck today named a 20-man squad for the upcoming international friendly match against Egypt at the Cairo International Stadium on Wednesday 17 November 2010 (Kick-off 7:30pm local, 4:30am AEDT).

Osieck will be using the match as an important part of the Qantas Socceroos preparations for the upcoming AFC Asian Cup 2011 which will be held in Qatar in January.

Qantas Socceroos Captain Lucas Neill returns to the squad after missing the last match against Paraguay due to injury along with Brett Holman who has fully recovered from a calf injury that he sustained in the recent international friendly against Poland.

Defender Sasa Ognenovski receives his first ever call-up to the Qantas Socceroos squad after a stellar season with his K-League club Seongnam Illwha where he captained his team to the AFC Champions League final and also gained a nomination for the AFC Player of the Year Award along with fellow Qantas Socceroo Tim Cahill.

Ognenovski will join the Qantas Socceroos squad after facing Zob Ahan of Iran in the AFC Champions League 2010 Final on Saturday 13 November in Tokyo.

Goal keeper Nathan Coe receives his second ever call up to the Qantas Socceroos squad, after last being selected for the international friendly against Nigeria which was played in London on 19 November 2007.

Although having represented Australia on many occasions at Under 17 and Under 20 levels, Coe is yet to make his senior international debut for the Qantas Socceroos.

Egypt is currently the top ranked nation in the African Football Confederation (CAF), the reigning Africa Cup of Nations Champions and 11th in the FIFA World Rankings.

The Qantas Socceroos have met Egypt only once before in the semi-finals of the 1987 President-s Cup tournament in Seoul in the Korea Republic. The match ended nil-all at the end of regulation time, with the Socceroos winning 4-3 in a penalty shoot-out.

All Qantas Socceroos matches are broadcast live and exclusive on FOX SPORTS.

Tim CAHILL Everton FC, England 45 (21) David CARNEY Blackpool, England 31 (4) Nathan COE (gk) Sønderjysk Elitesport, Denmark Jason CULINA Gold Coast United, Australia 55 (1) Brett EMERTON Blackburn Rovers, England 77 (17) Richard GARCIA Hull City FC, England 12 (0) Brett HOLMAN AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands 37 (5) Mile JEDINAK Genclerbirligi SK, Turkey 16 (0) Josh KENNEDY Nagoya Grampus, Japan 23 (7) Harry KEWELL Galatasaray SK, Turkey 47 (13) Scott McDONALD Middlesbrough FC, England 19 Matt McKAY Brisbane Roar, Australia 5 Lucas NEILL Galatasaray SK, Turkey 62 Jade NORTH Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand 30 Sasa OGNENOVSKI Seongnam Ilhwa. Korea Republic Mark SCHWARZER (gk) Fulham FC, England 81 Michael THWAITE Gold Coast United, Australia 6 Carl VALERI U.S. Sassuolo Calcio, Italy 28 Dario VIDOSIC FC Nurnberg, Germany 11 (1) Luke WILKSHIRE FK Dinamo Moscow, Russia 49 (3)