The history of Aussies in the FA Cup Final

Crystal Palace captain Mile Jedinak will look to defy history on Saturday, with Australians having generally struggled in FA Cup finals.

Australians have played in six previous FA Cup finals for a win-loss record of 2-4.

Jedinak poised to create history with Palace in FA Cup

Craig Johnston scored on May 10, 1986 as Liverpool defeated Everton 3-1 to become the first Aussie to win the oldest national football competition in the world, while Harry Kewell has also claimed an FA Cup winner's medal. 

Craig Johnston.

Australia's FA Cup Record

2009 FA Cup Final

Tim Cahill (Everton)

Chelsea 2-1 Everton

Everton started brilliantly with Louis Saha scoring the fastest goal in FA Cup final history after just 25 seconds.

Cahill lined up behind Saha and Marouane Fellaini in a 4-3-1-2 formation but struggled for sights on goal throughout the game.

Timmy Cahill

Didier Drogba equalised for Chelsea in the 21st minute, while Frank Lampard proved the hero for Chelsea, striking the winner with 18 minutes left from outside the box.

2006 FA Cup Final

Harry Kewell (Liverpool)

Liverpool 3-3 West Ham (3-1 on penalties)

While Kewell would finish this match with a winner's medal, the match summed up his Liverpool career as the left winger was taken off just after the break with an injury.

Harry Kewell.

Liverpool trailed twice at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff, before Steven Gerrard unleashed a 30-yard rocket into the net to force extra-time.

Dietmar Hamann, Gerrard and Jon-Arne Riise converted their penalties as the Reds triumphed.

2004 FA Cup Final

Tim Cahill (Millwall)

Manchester United 3-0 Millwall

Millwall's maiden FA Cup final appearance ended in disappointment as Cristiano Ronaldo's first-half strike and Ruud van Nistelrooy's second-half brace saw Manchester United triumph at Millennium Stadium.

Tim Cahill FA Cup

Cahill started as an attacking midfielder in Millwall's 4-4-1-1 formation, while future Wellington Phoenix forward Paul Ifill lined up on the right wing.

Millwall captain Kevin Muscat missed the final after injuring his knee in his team's semi-final triumph over Sunderland.

1988 FA Cup Final

Craig Johnston (Liverpool)

Wimbledon 1-0 Liverpool

Johnston came on in the second half but couldn't repeat his heroics from two years earlier as Wimbledon won the only major title in their club's history.

Lawrie Sanchez's looping header in the first half secured victory for Wimbledon, although they had to survive a second-half penalty as Dave Beasant saved John Aldridge's spot-kick.

Johnston replaced Aldridge soon after and helped inspired a strong finish for Liverpool but the Division One champions couldn't find the goal they needed.

Craig Johnston

1986 FA Cup Final

Craig Johnston (Liverpool)

Liverpool 3-1 Everton

Everton opened the scoring in the first half through Gary Lineker but Liverpool - who became the first club in a FA Cup final history to name a starting XI without an Englishman - would storm home in the second half to overcome their Merseyside rivals.

Ian Rush equalised in the 56th minute, while Johnston - who lined up on the right wing - gave the Reds the lead soon after, tapping in Jan Molby's cross at the back post.

Criag Johnston

Rush would wrap up victory with seven minutes remaining as Liverpool lifted the FA Cup for the first time in 12 years.

1954 FA Cup Final

Joe Marston (Preston North End)

West Brom 3-2 Preston

Sydney-born Marston became the first Australian to play in an FA Cup final when he was named at centre-half by Preston manager Scot Symon on May 1, 1954.

Ronnie Allen gave West Brom the lead in the 21st minute but Preston struck back immediately through Angus Morrison.

Preston edged ahead early in the second half thanks to Charlie Wayman's header but a penalty from Allen saw West Brom level at 2-2 before Frank Griffin struck the winner from a tight angle with three minutes left.