Destiny 06 – 9 Days To Go

We continue the countdown to the World Cup (South American) play-off kick-off of the 1st Leg being played in Montevideo (Saturday 12 November), bringing you up-to-date with all the headline news from around the country surrounding the crucial play-off matches.


Support the Socceroos at Telstra Stadium by purchasing National Team gear from the FFA new On-Line store. The shop offers all Official Licensed Product for the Socceroos and all other Australia National Teams including the following:

Nike Official Replicas: (Home/Away Jersey, Team Polo) Nike Transit Range: (Polo, T-shirt, jacket,) Coopers 2nd Tier Apparel: (Polo, Reversible jacket, Spray jacket, women-s t-shirt, etc) Supporter Gear: (Beach Towel, Flags, Beanie Bears, Nursery Ball) Headwear & Scarves: (Caps, Beanies, Scarves)

With the Socceroos wanting to play in front of a sea of Gold it would be great if all Australia-s supporters, especially those at Telstra Stadium "Get their Gold” at".


Australian sports fans can show their support for the Socceroos for the upcoming matches against Uruguay, by logging onto a new interactive fans site -

Some of the features of the site include: a message board, send a photo (by mobile only) and be part of a mosaic plus information on Australia and Uruguay. There will features added as we get closer to the big games.

Socceroos WATCH

Ljubo Milicevic was replaced in the 42nd minute for tactical reasons, as FC Thun lost 4-2 at home against Ajax Amsterdam.

Several players will possibly be in action tonight in the Champions League.

Scott Chipperfield should play for FC Basel away at Crvena Zvezda.

Mark Schwarzer and especially Mark Viduka will be looking to start in their home tie against Dnipro.



Uruguay coach Jorge Fossati has a named 27-man provisional squad for the play-off, as he looks to cover several injury concerns.

The squad is:

Goalkeepers: Fabian Carini (Cagliari/ITA), Sebastian Viera (Villarreal/ESP)

Defenders: Alejandro Lago (Rosenborg/NOR), Diego Lugano (Sao Paulo/BRA), Diego Lopez (Cagliari/ITA), Paolo Montero (San Lorenzo/ARG), Dario Rodriguez (Schalke 04/GER), Guillermo Rodriguez (Atlas/MEX)

Midfielders: Gonzalo De Los Santos (Valence/ESP), Carlos Diogo (Real Madrid/ESP), Pablo Garcia (Real Madrid/ESP), Martin Ligera (San Luis Potosi/MEX), Oscar Javier Morales (Valladolid/ESP), Martin Parodi (Al Ali/UAE), Diego Perez (AS Monaco/FRA), Alvaro Recoba (Inter Milan/ITA), Marcelo Sosa (Osasuna/ESP), Gustavo Varela (Schalke 04/GER)

Forwards: Sebastian Abreu (Dorados/MEX), Fabian Estoyanoff (Cadiz/ESP), Diego Forlan (Villarreal/ESP), Richard Morales (Malaga/ESP), Richard Nunez (Cruz Azul/MEX), Mario Regueiro (Valencia/ESP), Vicente Sanchez (Toluca/MEX), Dario Silva (Portsmouth/ENG), Marcelo Zalayeta (Juventus/ITA)