China Defeats Qantas Young Socceroos

The Qantas Young Socceroos have suffered a 1-0 loss against China in their opening qualifying match for the 2007 FIFA World Youth Cup.

The Qantas Young Socceroos have suffered a 1-0 loss against China in their opening qualifying match for the 2007 FIFA World Youth Cup.

The AFC Youth Championship match was played in humid conditions and on an extremely bumpy pitch at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

China scored the winning goal midway through the second half with substitute Xu Deen breaking through the middle of the defence to score past exposed Australian goalkeeper Tando Velaphi.

Neither team was able to gain the ascendancy during the match with the respective goalkeepers rarely called into action.

“The match always looked like a game of few chances with just one goal in it and so it proved,” said Qantas Young Socceroos coach Ange Postecoglou.

“I thought we did fairly well in the middle third of the pitch but we got caught asleep a little with the goal and we paid the penalty.

“It is certainly a disappointing result for us but we will now focus our energies towards winning the other two matches.”

China hit the side-netting with a shot on the half hour while Australia-s best chance saw striker David Williams- goalbound shot turned around the post ten minutes into the second half.

Williams part of a forward line that included Hyundai A-League duo Nathan Burns and Dario Vidosic, however Adelaide United striker Bruce Djite was suspended having received two yellow cards in the preliminary qualifying matches.

Australia will now face Thailand tomorrow before completing their Group B schedule against the United Arab Emirates on Friday.

The 16-nation AFC Youth Championship will conclude with the final on November 12 with the top four nations to qualify for the 2007 FIFA World Youth Cup in Canada.

Australian line-up: Tando Velaphi (gk), Steven O-Dor (Troy Hearfield 73-), Peter Eleftherakis, Matthew Spiranovic, Shaun Ontong (c), Jimmy Downey (Tarek Elrich 73-), Evan Berger, Kaz Patafta, Nathan Burns, Dario Vidosic, David Williams.

Substitutes: Mitchell Langerak (gk), Michael Marrone, Sebastian Ryall, Chris Grossman, Brad Porter, Oliver Bozanic

Unavailable: Bruce Djite

Cautions: Ontong 76-

The Australian touring squad is: Goalkeepers - Mitchell Langerak, Tando Velaphi (both AIS)

Defenders - Steven O-Dor, Peter Eleftherakis, Matthew Spiranovic, Michael Marrone (all AIS), Sebastian Ryall (NSWIS - New South Wales Institute of Sport)

Midfielders - Shaun Ontong, Jimmy Downey, Evan Berger (all AIS), Chris Grossman (uncontracted), Brad Porter (Central Coast Mariners), Tarek Elrich (Newcastle Jets), Troy Hearfield (uncontracted), Kaz Patafta (Benfica, Portugal), Oliver Bozanic (uncontracted)

Forwards - Bruce Djite (Adelaide United), Nathan Burns (Adelaide United), Dario Vidosic (Queensland Roar), David Williams (Brondby, Denmark)

Stand-by players - Alex Vrteski (Perth Glory), Robbie Kruse (uncontracted), Ben Vidaic (Sydney United, NSW), Christopher Nunes (AIS), Cameron Watson (uncontracted), Ben Kennedy (Newcastle Jets), Ryan McGowan (Hearts, Scotland), Andrew Redmayne (NSWIS).

The winner of Group B will meet the runner-up of Group A in the quarter finals, while the runner-up of Group B to face the winner of Group A. Both groups will be played in Kolkata.

Group A consists of Korea Republic, India, Kyrgyzstan and Jordan.

Australia v China Mon 30 October, 4pm local time (9.30pm AET)

Australia v Thailand Tuesday 1 November, 4pm local time

Australia v United Arab Emirates Friday 3 November, 3pm local time

Quarter Finals Monday 6 November, 4pm and 7pm

Semi Finals Thursday 9 November, 4pm and 7pm

Final (and 3/4 match)

Sunday 12 November, 7pm (and 4pm)

For more information on the Qantas Young Socceroos including player profiles click here