Bafana Bafana coach upbeat

With South Africa set to jet off tomorrow bound for Australia, Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund remains confident his squad to play the Socceroos will do the nation proud as he prepares for an Africa Cup of Nations qualification campaign.

Igesund said while the withdrawals had affected his plans, he was still confident that those selected would do the country proud.

These include Ajax Amsterdam midfielder Thulani Caleb Serero and Belgian based duo Anele Calvin Ngcongca and Ayanda Patosi.

“I have put together a big squad of around 34 which is young and excited about playing for the country, so those who I have called as replacements are part of that broader squad.

“They are very capable players,” he said.

“All these players are part of the group that should participate in the Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches for 2015 in Morocco.”

Bafana Bafana take on the Socceroos next Monday night in Sydney then travel to Auckland for a date with New Zealand on 30 May.

“This is an opportunity for those selected to raise their hands and be counted. They are young and should compete,” said Igesund.

The Bafana Bafana coach said there was little he could do about the withdrawals but added he had confidence in those selected.

“It has been a long season for most of these players and there is little I can do about injuries.

“ Injuries are part of the game of football and there is no one to be blamed for this.”

Bafana Bafana leave for Australia tomorrow (Thurs) and play the Socceroos on 26 May before flying to New Zealand for a date with the All Whites on 30 May.

Bafana Bafana Squad List vs Australia


1. Ronwen Hayden WILLIAMS (Supersport United FC - SA)
2. Senzo Robert MEYIWA (Orlando Pirates FC - SA)

3. Benett Thabo NTHETHE (Mamelodi Sundowns FC - SA)
4. Buhlebuyeza Wilson MKHWANAZI  (University of Pretoria FC - SA)
5. Thato MOKEKE (Supersport United FC - SA)
6. Anele Calvin NGCONGCA  (Racing Genk FC - BELGIUM)
7. Thabo MATLABA (Orlando Pirates FC - SA)
8. Erick MATHOHO (Kaizer Chiefs FC - SA)

9. Teko MODISE (Mamelodi Sundowns FC - SA)
10. Oupa Matthew MANYISA  (Orlando Pirates FC - SA)
11. Bongani ZUNGU  (Mamelodi Sundowns FC - SA)
12. Themba ZWANE (Mpumalanga Black Aces FC - SA)
13. Thulani Caleb SERERO (Ajax Amsterdam FC - Holland)
14. Thuso PHALA  (Supersport United FC - SA)
15. Hlompho Alpheus KEKANA  (Mamelodi Sundowns FC - SA)
16. Ayanda PATOSI (FC Lokeren - BELGIUM)

17. Kermit ERASMUS (Orlando Pirates FC - SA)
18. Tokelo Anthony RANTIE (AFC Bournemouth FC - ENG)

Send Off the Socceroos
Socceroos vs South Africa, presented by NAB
Monday 26 May, 
ANZ Stadium, Sydney 
Kick-off: 7.30pm
Tickets are from $30 including public transport. Buy now!