Australia invited to the 2010 CPIRSA European Championships

Australia to participate in the 2010 CPIRSA 7-A-Side Football European Championships.

Australia has been invited to participate in the 2010 CPIRSA 7-A-Side Football European Championships as a guest nation.

This competition will prove to be extremely challenging for the Aussies as the current Paralympic Champions & CPISRA International Champions, Ukraine will also be involved alongside seven of the top 10 ranked teams in the world. Australia is currently ranked 9th in the world.

The Australian team will see the return of two very experienced players in David Barber and Chris Pyne, who unfortunately missed the 2009 CPSIRA International Championships, where Australia qualified for the 2011 CPISRA 7-A-Side Football World Championships.

The return of these two players with the addition of Ben Roche will prove to be a major boost to the Australian team.

Jack Williams from Newcastle will be making his International debut for Australia in this tournament.

At only 16-years of age Jack will be a making a major step forward in his international career.

This tournament will prove to be a vital hit out for the Australian squad before the all-important 2011 CPISRA 7-A-Side Football World Championships next year and will allow head coach Paul Brown to assess the squad thoroughly.

The winner of this tournament will earn an automatic spot in the 2012 Paralympics in London.

The competition is being held in Glasgow, Scotland and will be played at the Toryglen Regional Football Centre. The Toryglen Regional Football Centre boasts a first class indoor synthetic grass pitch. It is a world class facility and is located near Scotland-s National Stadium, Hampden Park.

The team will leave for Scotland on the 10th Aug 2010 from Sydney International Airport.

Tournament Draw :

17th Aug 2010 ; 1:00pm ; Australia vs Ireland

18th Aug 2010 ; 1:00pm ; Ukraine vs Australia

20th Aug 2010 ; 10:30am ; Finland vs Australia

22nd Aug 2010 ; 1:00pm ; Austalia vs England

Playoffs will begin on the 25th August 2010.

List of participating teams: Ukraine Russia Netherlands Ireland Scotland England Australia Spain Finland Denmark

Team List : David Barber - QLD (Captain) Chris Pyne - NSW (Vice Captain) Jamie Paulsen - QLD Jarrod Law - QLD Ben Roche - VIC Thomas Goodman - SA Sam Larkings - NSW Brett Fairhall - NSW Jamie Laybutt - NSW Ben Atkins - NSW Ned McCabe - NSW Jack Williams - NSW

Staff list : Paul Brown - NSW - Head Coach Kai Lammert - NSW - Assistant Coach David Campbell - NSW - Team Manager Edward Davidson - NSW - Team Physiotherapist